2009 Jayco Herald Sun Tour Route Announced

Press Release: Victorias Premier John Brumby unveiled the course for this year’s race which will kick off in Ballarat on October 11 and go through Colac, Warrnambool, Apollo Bay, Anglesea, Barwon Heads and Geelong before a twilight final-stage circuit race on Lygon Street in Melbourne on 17 October.

The Victorian Government is committed to attracting world-class major events like the Jayco Herald Sun Tour that boost jobs, tourism and investment in our state,” Mr Brumby said.

“The Jayco Herald Sun Tour shines a national and international spotlight on Victoria. Attracting the best local cyclists and the best cyclists from overseas, it has a long, proud history and just gets better and better every year.

“Cycling in Australia is undergoing tremendous growth in participation at both the recreational and elite level due to the continued success of Australia’s best on the world stage and the strong growth of events like the Jayco Herald Sun Tour.

“This is a great event for regional Victoria and a great event for Melbourne, injecting over $100,000 in economic flow-on benefits to each of the host towns it passes through, with last year’s event boosting the state’s economy by $1.6 million.

“This year’s course is another wonderful promotion for country Victoria and Melbourne, passing through the Goldfields, historic buildings of Ballarat, before heading through the dairy country of Colac to Warrnambool and along the pristine Great Ocean Road.”  

The 2009 Jayco Herald Sun Tour will host 15 teams of seven riders making up a 105 rider-field.

“The Tour is an iconic event, with an honour roll that includes some of the greats of Australian sport and it’s anticipated the world’s best cycling teams will again participate this year,” Mr Brumby said.

“The individual time trial on the foreshore of Geelong provides the perfect crescendo to the twilight stage along Carlton’s famous Lygon Street on the final day.”

Mr Brumby said the Tour, combined with the UCI Track World Cup in Melbourne in November and the 2010 UCI Road World Championships to be held next year would further boost Victoria’s reputation as the centre for world-renowned international cycling events.

Herald and Weekly Times managing director Peter Blunden said the Jayco Herald Sun Tour provided a major opportunity for Australia’s professional teams to line up against the world’s biggest and best professional outfits.

“The Jayco Herald Sun Tour continues to play a major role in developing the next generation of Australian cycling stars, ensuring the Australian professional teams get the chance to mix it with the best international teams and riders from the Tour de France,” Mr Blunden said.

Mr Blunden said event organisers would begin announcing the elite teams and riders following the Tour de France in July.

Reigning champion, Olympic gold medallist and Tour de France star Stuart O’Grady, said he and his Saxo Bank team mates were keen to return in 2009 to defend the yellow jersey.

“As I said after the win last year, I was surprised at how good the race had become.  It has a great atmosphere, a fantastic course and short sharp racing,” Mr O’Grady said.

“This year’s course looks superb and has something for everyone and I love the idea of the twilight street race on Lygon Street – the crowd there on a Saturday afternoon should be huge.”

The 2009 Jayco Herald Sun Tour will be presented by Jayco and the Herald Sun, along with the continued support from the Victorian Government.

2009 Jayco Herald Sun Tour Route

Sunday 11 October
Jayco Herald Sun Preface – Ballarat – 2.2km circuit
Start/Finish – Sturt St, Ballarat, 3.00pm
50 minutes plus 3 laps (approx 4.50pm)

Monday 12 October
Stage One – Ballarat to Ballarat – 160km
Start – Botanical Gardens, Lake Wendouree, 10.30am
Finish – Botanical Gardens, Lake Wendouree, ETA 2.00pm
Via Creswick, Daylesford, Trentham, Spring Hill, Glenlyon, Daylesford, Creswick

Tuesday 13 October
Stage Two – Colac to Warrnambool – 143km
Start – Murray St (Princes Hwy), Colac, 10.30am
Finish – Flagstaff Hill, Warrnambool, ETA 2.00pm
Via Tomahawk Creek, Jancourt East, Cobden, Scotts Creek, Timboon, Brucknell, Nirranda East, Nullawarre, Mepunga East, Allansford

Wednesday 14 October
Stage Three – Warrnambool to Apollo Bay – 165km
Start – Flagstaff Hill, Merri St, Warrnambool, 10.30am
Finish – Collingwood St, (Great Ocean Road), Apollo Bay, ETA 2.00pm
Via Allansford, Mepunga East, Nirranda, Peterborough, Port Campbell, Princetown, Lower Gellibrand, Lavers Hill, Glenaire, Marengo

Thursday 15 October
Stage Four – Anglesea to Barwon Heads – 120km
Start – Anglesea Bowls Club, Cameron Road, Anglesea, 11.00am
Finish – Hitchcock Ave, Barwon Heads – ETA 2:00pm
Via Aireys Inlet, Fairhaven, Lorne, Benwerrin, Deans Marsh, Bambra, Wurdlboluc, Moriac, Mount Duneed, Thirteenth Beach Road.

Friday 16 October
Stage Five – Individual Time Trial, Geelong Foreshore – 10km
Start – Ritchie Boulevard, Eastern Beach, Geelong, 12.30pm
Finish – Ritchie Boulevard, Eastern Beach, Geelong, last rider to depart at approximately 2.00pm

Saturday 17 October
Stage Six – Circuit Race, Melbourne – 2.5km circuit |
Start – Lygon St, Carlton – 5:00pm
Finish – Lygon St, Carlton – 80 minutes plus 3 laps (approx 6:30pm)

Alternative Text
About The Author

Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a professional design business, Signale. As the driving force behind Bicycles.net.au he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.

Comments are closed.