OUCH brings full American contingent to U.S. Pro Champs

For Saturday’s 33.4km time trial, the team will have four riders who have proven abilities against the clock.

Headlining will be two-time U.S. Pro Time Trial Champion Chris Baldwin, who comes out of the Tour of Utah with great form despite some bad luck on the queen stage of the race.

Joining Baldwin will be Floyd Landis and Roman Kilun, who posted a top-10 result at last year’s U.S. Pro TT, and 2008 elite national time trial champion Jonathan Chodroff.

Baldwin and Landis will be top candidates for the hilly 177km road race on Sunday, along with Patrick McCarty, who posted a top-10 overall result at the Tour of Utah. Team captain Tim Johnson’s all-around strengths are also well suited for the 33.4km circuit that includes Paris Mountain.

“We’ve got a number of guys who are going really well, especially the guys coming out of Utah,” said team directeur sportif Mike Tamayo. Pat and Chris rode very well at Utah, and Baldwin was headed for a potential top-five finish if he hadn’t had the crash during Stage 4. He had a really strong time trial there as well.” <!–[endif]–>

The team will have added firepower – and potential dark horse candidate for the win – in Bradley White, who took the first King of the Mountains jersey at Utah and proved to be an invaluable teammate on the climbs for Baldwin and McCarty as the race progressed.

“Brad came into Utah with really good form,” Tamayo said. “He had been targeting that race and doing specific training for it and it showed with his performance. He’s looking to keep that form through this weekend.

The road race squad will be rounded out by U.S. National Criterium Champion John Murphy and Beijing Olympian Bobby Lea.

The OUCH Pro Cycling Team Presented by Maxxis for U.S. Pro Championships, August 29-30: <!–[endif]–>

Time Trial, Saturday:
Chris Baldwin
Jonathan Chodroff
Roman Kilun
Floyd Landis
<!–[if !supportEmptyParas]–> <!–[endif]–>
Road Race, Sunday:
Chris Baldwin
Jonathan Chodroff
Tim Johnson
Roman Kilun
Floyd Landis
Bobby Lea
Patrick McCarty
John Murphy
Bradley White

Tags: ,

About The Author

from an event organisers, team, organisation or other bodies. These may be published in part or in their entirety.

Comments are closed.