Valverde takes Vuelta victory

Alejandro Valverde of Team Caisse d’Epargne takes overall victory in the 2009 Vuelta a Espana. Finishing safely in the pack, Valverde held a 55 second lead on Euskaltel’s Samuel Sanchez and 1 minute 32 seconds on Australian Cadel Evans of Silence-Lotto. 

Andre Greipel was the stage winner, his fourth victory of the tour. David Moncoutie (Cofidis) was the overall winner of the mountain classifications while Xacobeo-Galicia took the over team victory.

Australian Cadel Evans missed out on a better result and chance to challenge Valverde after a puncture and bad wheel change cost him over one minute.

Alternative Text
About The Author

Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a professional design business, Signale. As the driving force behind he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.

Comments are closed.