Hushovd takes stage 3 & Cancellara the TDF yellow

The third stage of the 2010 Tour de France saw 191 riders depart on a 213 km route from Wanze in Belgium to Arenberg in France with 13,2 km cobble stone roads that also feature in the legendary Paris Roubaix race.

There were continued crashes today with two casualties, David Le Lay of AG2R La Mondiale and Saxobank rider Frank Schleck who crashed on the French cobbles breaking his collarbone and ending his tour aspirations this year.

Thor Hushovd of Cervélo TestTeam was part of a late breakaway group that gained over 2 minutes on the peloton. Hushovd won in the sprint finish that included Thomas Geraint (Team Sky), Cadel Evans (Team BMC Racing), Ryder Hesjedal (Team Garmin Transitions) and Team Saxobank riders Andy Schleck and Fabian Cancellara.

While Hushovd takes the stage victory, Fabian Cancellara is now back in Yellow with Thomas Geraint in second and Cadel Evans making his move and placed 3rd.

Stage four of the 2010 Tour de France is from Cambrai to Reims and covers 153,5 km, a short stage in which the strong sprint teams will want to stay in touch and hope for a mass sprint finish.

Alternative Text
About The Author

Christopher Jones is a recreational cyclist and runs a professional design business, Signale. As the driving force behind he has one of each 'types' of bicycles.

Comments are closed.