Rohan Dennis takes the German Thüringen Tour

South Australian Rohan Dennis, has become the first Australian to win Germany’s International Thüringen Tour in the 37 year history of the event. The 22-year-old Jayco-AIS rider crossed the line safely in the lead bunch at the end of the final stage, a hilly 143 kilometre course around the town of Zeulenroda.

French national team starter Johan Le Bon finished second overall, 28 seconds behind Dennis with Dutch rider Marc Goos of Rabobank a further 28 seconds back in third place.

The reigning U23 time trial and road race national champion had moved into the lead with an impressive win in the uphill time trial stage five after being within striking distance since the prologue where Jayco-AIS finished second in the team time trial, three seconds off the pace of their Rabobank rivals.

The Jayco-AIS team in Germany also included Jay McCarthy, Patrick Lane, Michael Freiberg, Calvin Watson and Damien Howson and Dennis praised his team mates for their support.

“It was a great team effort,” said a jubilant Dennis after his win. “They backed me from the start and I am so happy I could deliver on the TT day (Stage 5) and then hold onto the lead on the final day.

“It has been a pleasure to work with all of these guys for the past couple of months and I can’t wait to work with these guys again later in the year at the world championships,” said the two time team pursuit world champion, who headed to Europe for a block of road racing after claiming silver in the team pursuit at the track worlds in Melbourne in April.

But his focus will now turn back to the track as he heads off to join the track endurance squad for the pre-Games training camp.

“I couldn’t have wished for a better lead in to my final preparation for the Olympics,” said Dennis of his Thüringen experience.

Howson was the next best placed Australian finishing 12th overall at 1:23.

Ninety four of the original 126 starters completed the prestigious tour that featured under-23 riders from 13 nations.

Photo: © cas_ks


About The Author

is the Australian national sporting body for Cycling.

Comments are closed.