newbie question about double chainwheel with triple shifter

pembo6

newbie question about double chainwheel with triple shifter

Postby pembo6 » Sun Sep 16, 2012 2:54 am

hi. im very new to riding. Just bought an old (2003) Giant OCR3 to try and get into some triathlons.

i have been trying to adjust the derailleurs and am not having much luck. i finally worked out that the front shifter is a 3 speed (shimano sora), but the previous owner must have removed the triple chainset and replaced it with a tracer f.i.s. double chainset.

so i have a 3 speed shifter with a double chainwheel/chainset. The inner chainwheel is missing. Other than making derailleur adjustment difficult, is there any major problem with this setup? Is the shifter indexing the same?

i cant seem to get the derailleur shifting perfectly and i dont know if i should keep perservering or give up because it wont work..

i am badically allowing the front derailleur to start on an 'imaginary' inner chainwheel, then move to the middle (which is actually the inner), and then to the outer. i use the low limit screw to stop the derailleur from throwing the chain off the inside chainwheel when shifting down. the large cage allows this to be done easily.

in the end i will probably just take it to a bike mechanic, but i was just wanting to know if i was waisi g my time because the indexing was diggerent, or something else.

thanks for your advice.

pembo6

Re: newbie question about double chainwheel with triple shif

Postby pembo6 » Mon Sep 17, 2012 1:33 pm

OK. So after googling for an hour or so, I came up with some answers. Honestly, I did try that before posting..... but I'm just learning some of the correct terminology for bike parts and I was googling the wrong things.

So it seems like there is no problem running a double chain-wheel with a 3 speed/triple shifter. Lots of people do it.