Looking for Gong Ride partner(s) - average 30km/h

For Roadies

Looking for Gong Ride partner(s) - average 30km/h

Postby gerardvok » Thu Sep 19, 2013 11:33 pm

Hi.
I would like to ride the Gongride with one or more people on the day who are interested in drafting and going at a reasonable clip.
I'm no Simon Gerrans but I plan on an average speed of 30km/h - 32km/h. No commitments here.. if I'm too slow you can take off, but ideally I'm looking for a similar rider.

Its my first time riding the gongride, and I suspect that people tend to naturally group up but it would be cool to get a small group together for the purpose of sharing the slipstream anyway. Planning on starting the ride at 6am.

If you are interested please respond by email. Thanks.

Gerard van Ommen, Sydney.
[color=#FF4000][mod]email address removed, please PM[/mod][/color]
gerardvok

by BNA » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:45 pm

BNA

Re: Looking for Gong Ride partner(s) - average 30km/h

Postby Pedaling » Tue Sep 24, 2013 11:45 pm

Hey mate,
The ride is very social and does not really get moving until after about 5 to 10kms.
During the start of the ride just strike up a conversation with someone like minded and gauge what level they are at, and see if they want to share a wheel.
There are so many riders riding at your pace level, that you will have no dramas finding ride partners.
BTW, leave something in the tank for the ride out of the national park, as you can make it difficult for yourself otherwise.
Most of all just enjoy the day, be social, as everyone is there to enjoy the ride.
Cheers,

Darrin.
"Life is just a ride" Bill Hicks
Pedaling

Postby gerardvok » Wed Sep 25, 2013 10:47 pm