Kew Boulie Time?

For Roadies

Kew Boulie Time?

Postby zill » Sat Mar 29, 2014 1:18 pm

Hi all,

I know Kew Boulie is a popular place to train and I have been training there for a few months. Last week on a cool (dry) Sunday afternoon, I posted a time of 23 min and 33 seconds from the Stop sign at the start of Walmer St to the Chandler HWY end and then back to the sign again (one lap). The average speed was 33.4 km/hr. I was riding a medium range road bike with full aluminium wheels.

I have also done a 3 laps of the Boulie and got a time of 1 hour and 15 min. Average speed was 31.7 km/hr.

My question is how good or bad is this result? And what grade road races would I fall into with this kind of result?

Thanks
Last edited by zill on Sat Mar 29, 2014 8:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
zill

by BNA » Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:01 pm

BNA

Re: Kew Boulie Time?

Postby ironhanglider » Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:01 pm

Here is the same lap in reverse.

Your time would be good for =420th.

C or D perhaps? There is more to road racing than time trial speed.

Cheers,

Cameron
ironhanglider

Postby ironhanglider » Sat Mar 29, 2014 3:30 pm

Found another segment You'd be =556th.

There's still a few riders behind you though.

The Hawthorn Cycling Club criteriums will have finished now I expect. Road season traditionally starts on April Fools day (or close to).

A number of clubs ride together as the Northern Combine to share administration/road approvals and to have better racing. Get into it, the Hell of the West is coming which is always fun despite the name, though I used to like it when it finished up The Bluff rather than having it mid race.

Cheers,

Cameron.
ironhanglider

Postby zill » Sat Mar 29, 2014 8:48 pm

ironhanglider wrote:Here is the same lap in reverse.

Cheers,

Cameron

Thanks for the information. Looks like some people are really fast! Although I wonder if those top times are from riding time trial bikes? I was riding a normal road bike!