What makes a cyclist good at climbing?

DaveQB

What makes a cyclist good at climbing?

Postby DaveQB » Mon Jun 29, 2015 6:28 pm

Is weight the single biggest factor?
I am new to cycling with 20+ years of American Football experience. Very different demands physically (fast switch v slow twitch).

I find when riding with others that I am fine on flats and generally lead the way on descents but climbing I fall way off the back. In a few rides like the Bobbin Head ride, I found I yo-yo with riders who seem about similar in ability to me but are lighter. They race ahead up the climbs then I roll past them as they pedal on the descents. I am 86kg, 16% body fat and a resting HR of 42.

I am curious to discuss and garner opinions from people on this. I am not planning on trying to change my fast twitch fibres to slow twitch while I have a few years left of football in me, but I am curious about this topic.

Thanks.
Ht: 182cm | Wt: 84kg | Bikes: Felt AR1 2016, Felt B2 2013
Sucessful Trades --> files.dward.us/Cycling/BNA-Trades.txt

struggler

Re: What makes a cyclist good at climbing?

Postby struggler » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:09 pm

Great question, but one that I can't answer from experience. I'm at a similar stage, new to the bike and riding with friends who mostly drop me off off the back once we hit the hills. I'm working on the principal of never missing a ride, and trying to slip a few extra hill sessions in when I can, on the premise that it's km's in the legs (with a good mix of hills) that will get me there eventually. Whilst it seems difficult to close the gap, I'm noticing improvement, which is encouraging. I also keep reminding myself that most of the others I ride with have a number of years++ in their legs and that's gotta count for something. I reckon persistence is #1. Perhaps using strava or similar will help you measure improvement... although I'm not that sophisticated yet. Good luck :!:

HappyHumber

Postby HappyHumber » Mon Jun 29, 2015 7:13 pm