UCI Approved Wheels Required?

DaveQB

UCI Approved Wheels Required?

Postby DaveQB » Fri Jun 09, 2017 12:50 am

Hi,

I am new to the sport. I have a few Flo wheels and really like them. I recently came across the information that you need to have UCI approved wheels for any UCI affiliated bunch start races. As I am enjoying Time Trials, this is less of an issue but I have entered in a few crits and road races recently too. I haven't been turned away due to my Flo wheels. Will this be an issue? Do I need to consider wheels on the UCI list? I have a Cycling Australia Race licence. Is it correct my CA licence insurance will not cover any expenses that may come from my wheels hurting someone else?

Thanks.
Ht: 182cm | Wt: 84kg | Bikes: Felt AR1 2016, Felt B2 2013
Sucessful Trades --> files.dward.us/Cycling/BNA-Trades.txt

Alex Simmons/RST
Expert

Re: UCI Approved Wheels Required?

Postby Alex Simmons/RST » Fri Jun 09, 2017 7:38 am

You are correct in that there are rules about what wheels you may use in mass start races. This is the list and importantly accompanying notes:
http://www.uci.ch/mm/Document/News/Rule ... nglish.pdf

As to enforcement, like many such things it will be variable depending on commissaire knowledge and importantly, resources for the race on the day. A local race comm will typically have more important things to be concerned with.

As to insurance risks - well who can really say?

DaveQB

Postby DaveQB » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:25 am

Thanks Alex. I guess I've got something to consider. I have picked up a Zipp 404 set. Of the 8 wheels I have, they're the only ones UCI approved. I was going to sell them. Bugger.

DaveQB

Postby DaveQB » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:27 am

That's the most recent addition PDF, not the complete list. You'll notice there's only 1 Zipp/Sram wheel on there for example.

Derny Driver

Postby Derny Driver » Fri Jun 09, 2017 9:32 am