Bike Maintenance

TriggerFish

Bike Maintenance

Postby TriggerFish » Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:33 pm

I racked up my first 500kms on my new bike today. Pretty chuffed. When I bought it, they said that I should bring it in for its first service after 3 months, but after hearing what I was planning in terms of commuting, they said probably bring it in end of Feb.

Anyway, I am thinking that I would like to do maintainence tasks myself for some things. I am not an expert by any means, but, I have been putting a 'dry lube' on the chain every week. Mind you dry lube is a bit of an oxy moron if you ask me. It's pretty wet when it goes on. I wipe it all off as much as possible as per directions. I check the tires a couple of times a week. So far that is about it.

I have a couple of questions. If I buy the right tools, how easy is it to get the back gear cassette off to clean it? It is getting grime etc from the trips I do and I want it to be clean like when I rode it out of the shop! Is this the kind of tool I need? Although it does say when used in conjunction with another tool....

The other thing I have noticed with this bike (and my old bike for that matter) is that sometimes when I pedal, I get a sqeak from the base of the pedal cranks (?). I don't know the correct term for the part of the bike, but, it is the bit where the cranks that the pedals are joined onto join with the frame. I assume there is an axle thingy in there that I can lubricate somehow, but, am not sure how or where to apply whatever lubricant I need. I want my bike to be quiet and was surprised when a little squeak was let out every now and then.

Finally, the dry lube bugs me. It is meant to clean the chain and gears, but, I am sure that it adds to the grime at the end of the day. Is there something better I can use. A graphite based product perhaps?

Lots to read and I thankyou for taking the time. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks and regards,

TF.

Bnej