To nod or not to nod - that is the question

open topic, for anything cycling related.

To nod or not to nod - that is the question

Postby gururug » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:45 pm

When I started riding on then cycleway, I was to focussed on not falling off or having a heart attack that I did not acknowledge oncoming riders.

Over time I have noticed that some riders give a nod.

Now i'm not so puffed I also sometimes give a nod.

I have noticed that the pro looking roadies almost always do not nod but the more casual riders normally do.

So, the question is, should you nod, or not?
gururug

by BNA » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:59 pm

BNA

Postby Bnej » Tue Apr 24, 2007 8:59 pm

I will not only nod, but give a full wave/salute to every rider I see (presuming I am not actively having to use the brakes or steer), and every motorist who is patient and gives me plenty of room when they pass.

Big smiles/nods/waves to everyone who should be encouraged in their actions.
Bnej

Postby wombatoutofhell » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:02 pm

i smile and nod-with my smile that might scare people though! I'll also give a little wave to motorists who wait patiently for me to pass
wombatoutofhell

Postby LuckyPierre » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:02 pm

We had a play with this back in December - but it's a good topic.
I think that it's got worse - even in just a few months.
Oh, that's right - of course you should nod. Maybe a wave or a "Hi" wouldn't go astray and never forget the casual "Morning" as you blow past some-one on a 'better' bike than yours. :D
LuckyPierre

Postby Mr888 » Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:03 pm

Over time you'll notice other forms of acknowledgements beside the nod, for example the one or two finger raise off the handle bar, the tight lipped grin or raised eyebrow. It's very hard to pick up these subtle signals because you only have a brief second to notice before you pass each other, but over time you'll pick it up.