New Garmin 800

open topic, for anything cycling related.

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby gururug » Sat Mar 26, 2011 5:04 pm

I notice it takes a few minutes for the temperature to stabilise / warm up.

Not a big deal but worth noting that temp readings at the start are inaccurate.
User avatar
gururug
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:05 pm

by BNA » Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:54 pm

BNA
 

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby jonoz » Sat Mar 26, 2011 6:54 pm

My heart rate at the start, even with wetting the strap, is at 250 and takes about 15 minutes so get back down into the 100s.

Anyone else experiencing that?
jonoz
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2010 11:09 am

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Marty Moose » Sat Mar 26, 2011 9:42 pm

jonoz wrote:My heart rate at the start, even with wetting the strap, is at 250 and takes about 15 minutes so get back down into the 100s.

Anyone else experiencing that?

Tighten the strap and don't wear loose tops.

MM
Marty Moose
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Phil » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:02 pm

About to pull the pin on one fro HTA (yeah Rob was very quick with getitng back to me). Going to go with the bundle with 2x cadence sensors,TOPO maps & HRM. My only concern is I can not see myself ever mountain biking so wondering if I am better swapping over to the City Navigator option (Rob has said this is an option at the moment as he has stock) or staying with the Topological maps?

Really want the street maps as my distances have increased, my affinitiy with getting lost has quintupled. Plus I thought it would be handy for servos, shopping centre, etc if I get into the back of beyond and hit the wall, and need food/water. If I can get the same info out of the topo maps I will just go with them, could see they might be handy as the other half likes to go bush walking in the back of the hill, plus I may one day get into MTBing (slim chance but possible).

Advice from people with the different maps would be appreciated.
Image
User avatar
Phil
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:07 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby gururug » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:14 pm

Peice of cake......

Load both street and topo and just uncheck the one you want.......

I think i read you can overlay two but haven't tried it.

If it's a cost thing there's a link somewhere to some open source maps if I can dig it up...anyone? The paid for maps would probably be better for landmarks and such.
User avatar
gururug
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:05 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby gururug » Sun Mar 27, 2011 5:40 pm

User avatar
gururug
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:05 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Phil » Mon Mar 28, 2011 12:38 pm

Cheers Guru.

Just ordered the two bike bundle, plus the external power pack from HTA. Will be hanging out for it.

Spent enough time drooling over it.
Image
User avatar
Phil
 
Posts: 430
Joined: Tue Jan 25, 2011 11:07 pm
Location: Perth, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Marty Moose » Mon Mar 28, 2011 7:54 pm

Can't upload to the net for today Monday the 28th, no other uploads in the Perth area for this day very unusual. Anyone else have this issue ??

MM
Marty Moose
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby snark » Mon Mar 28, 2011 10:33 pm

Marty Moose wrote:Can't upload to the net for today Monday the 28th, no other uploads in the Perth area for this day very unusual. Anyone else have this issue ??


I've been trying to upload a ride on and off all day and it finally worked about an hour ago (10pm-ish east coast time).

Cheers,
Simon.
Phil Liggett, TdF 2011, Alpe-d'Huez: "I reckon tonight in hindsight he may have won the Tour de France tomorrow."
User avatar
snark
 
Posts: 567
Joined: Wed Oct 01, 2008 2:35 am
Location: Geelong, Vic

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Marty Moose » Mon Mar 28, 2011 11:26 pm

Works here now too bout 9pm WST

MM
Marty Moose
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby gururug » Sat Apr 02, 2011 2:33 pm

jonoz wrote:My heart rate at the start, even with wetting the strap, is at 250 and takes about 15 minutes so get back down into the 100s.

Anyone else experiencing that?


Try wearing it upside down. I've accidentally been doing that and never had a problem with the strap. I also put it on 15mins or so before the ride.
User avatar
gururug
 
Posts: 1503
Joined: Thu Jan 25, 2007 11:05 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Aushiker » Fri May 13, 2011 3:16 pm

Hi

I have had a few issues with the premium strap ... at best inconsistent connection to the receiver. I replaced the battery in the transmitter without improvement. Decided to try it out with the Polar strap based on a suggestion at DC Rainmaker and also tried it with my Adidas MiCoach strap. It works best with the MiCoach strap.

Anyway I contacted the team at Highly Tuned Athletes as that is where I purchased the unit from. Rob and his team have dropped in the mail to me a replacement premium strap and all I need to do is return my existing one upon receipt. Great service from Highly Tuned Athletes once again.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19975
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby toppity » Fri May 13, 2011 4:19 pm

jonoz wrote:My heart rate at the start, even with wetting the strap, is at 250 and takes about 15 minutes so get back down into the 100s.

Anyone else experiencing that?

my 500 was doing this a little while ago. I updated the software and it was fixed. Has there been any updates for the 800 yet?
I ride several bicycles, but not at once.
toppity
 
Posts: 973
Joined: Tue Aug 10, 2010 10:08 am
Location: West Gippsland, Victoria

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby vladt » Mon May 30, 2011 4:01 pm

Hey Rob,

Looking to get Edge 800 with navigation option. Don't need hrm or speed cad.
Are you running any specials at HTA at the moment?

Cheers
vladt
vladt
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Nov 15, 2010 8:34 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Crawf » Mon May 30, 2011 4:08 pm

800 question...

How do you change the color of a route that you have chosen to display on screen?
Obviously I have gone into the route and changed the color, but it still shows up on screen in purple, which is the same color as my roads - making it very difficult to view my route overlayed on screen?

(I'm using maps from http://wiki.openstreetmap.org )
Crawf
 
Posts: 1647
Joined: Wed Jan 09, 2008 8:20 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby RobertFrith » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:23 pm

I'm contemplating buying an 800. I have no use for cadence and I'm not too fussed about seeing my exact speed minute to minute, I'm thinking I can do without the speed cadence unit, just wondered if there's anything I'm missing?
Last edited by RobertFrith on Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Image
User avatar
RobertFrith
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 9:27 pm
Location: Perth

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Baalzamon » Sat Sep 03, 2011 7:24 pm

I will buy a Garmin 800 WHEN my Garmin 705 dies that I can't fix it :)
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image
Baalzamon
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

New Garmin 800

Postby Boognoss » Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:35 pm

RobertFrith wrote:I'm contemplating buying an 800. I have no use for cadence and I'm not too fussed about seeing my exact speed minute to minute, I'm thinking I can do without the speed cadence unit, just wondered if there's anything I'm missing?

Without the speed/cadence unit you get second-to-second speed unless you're in a tunnel or otherwise obscured from the sky as the speed portion is a backup for the gps. I have three sensors on my three bikes, two of which have recently died. No difference on rides without the sensors other than no cadence data. No probs with speed and distance stats at all.


Cheers, Simon

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
n = 3 for now

Image
User avatar
Boognoss
Super Mod
Super Mod
 
Posts: 5754
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:45 am
Location: Castle Hill, NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby RobertFrith » Sat Sep 03, 2011 8:43 pm

Boognoss wrote:No difference on rides without the sensors other than no cadence data. No probs with speed and distance stats at all.

brill
Image
User avatar
RobertFrith
 
Posts: 1234
Joined: Tue May 05, 2009 9:27 pm
Location: Perth

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby RobGrinter » Mon Sep 05, 2011 1:51 pm

Yes, as per Boognoss stated, you can get speed from the GPS signal.

You will save your self about $50 if you buy it without the speed/cadence sensor.

We have all the variations available here:
http://www.highlytunedathletes.com.au/default.asp?Keyword=edge+800&page=searchview
CheersRob
http://www.HighlyTunedAthletes.com.au/blog
The Specialists in Sport Electronics
RobGrinter
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:19 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby norbs » Mon Sep 05, 2011 6:21 pm

RobGrinter wrote:Yes, as per Boognoss stated, you can get speed from the GPS signal.

You will save your self about $50 if you buy it without the speed/cadence sensor.

We have all the variations available here:
http://www.highlytunedathletes.com.au/default.asp?Keyword=edge+800&page=searchview



Hey Rob. If I bought the basic Edge 800, will it work with the HRM and Speed/Cadense sensor off my Edge 500? I could sell the 500 head unit to help fund the 800.

Thanks.
User avatar
norbs
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Shoalhaven. NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby petal665 » Mon Sep 05, 2011 7:41 pm

Yes it will.
Image
petal665
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:42 am
Location: Red Hill, Brisbane

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby norbs » Mon Sep 05, 2011 8:25 pm

petal665 wrote:Yes it will.



Champion. Thanks Ben.

Hey Rob, hows the loyalty program going? 33% off for 2nd time buyers. :lol:
User avatar
norbs
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Shoalhaven. NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Baalzamon » Tue Sep 06, 2011 12:17 am

705 HRM? guess it does as it uses ANT...
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image
Baalzamon
 
Posts: 4568
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby RobGrinter » Tue Sep 06, 2011 2:25 pm

norbs wrote:
petal665 wrote:Yes it will.


Hey Rob, hows the loyalty program going? 33% off for 2nd time buyers. :lol:


Speed/Cad unit from Edge 500 will work with any Garmin cycle computer including Edge 800

Not sure about 33%, as we are not a non-for-profit organistation, but we are always happy to help out with loyal customers.

Take a look at the new Garmin Vector pedal coming in March and a new offer we have going for those that want to buy an Edge 800. I wont post a link as it may get me in strife, but just look up our website and top RHS search for 'Vector'
CheersRob
http://www.HighlyTunedAthletes.com.au/blog
The Specialists in Sport Electronics
RobGrinter
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:19 pm

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider], Bing [Bot], dalai47, Google [Bot], jaseyjase, nezumi



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU



InTouch with BNA
“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter