New Garmin 800

open topic, for anything cycling related.

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby norbs » Tue Sep 06, 2011 4:38 pm

RobGrinter wrote:Speed/Cad unit from Edge 500 will work with any Garmin cycle computer including Edge 800

Not sure about 33%, as we are not a non-for-profit organistation, but we are always happy to help out with loyal customers.

Take a look at the new Garmin Vector pedal coming in March and a new offer we have going for those that want to buy an Edge 800. I wont post a link as it may get me in strife, but just look up our website and top RHS search for 'Vector'



Spoke to Rob on the phone this afternoon. Very helpful and professional. Many thanks Rob.
User avatar
norbs
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Shoalhaven. NSW

by BNA » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:11 pm

BNA
 

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Schmenz » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:11 pm

Should the performance bundle come with the cadence sensor with the g10 part. The booklet shows that you cabletie a part to the crank but I didn't have that part in the box. Only the main sensor bit and the spoke bit.

I only just unpacked it so I'm a little confused. It was bought from garmin aust and not overseas :D but I can't take it to the shop as it was a special order through garmin
Newbie to the cycling world.
2011 Giant TCR Advanced W
http://www.sea2summit2011.blogspot.com
User avatar
Schmenz
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:48 am

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby DaveOZ » Tue Sep 13, 2011 7:13 pm

Schmenz wrote:Should the performance bundle come with the cadence sensor with the g10 part. The booklet shows that you cabletie a part to the crank but I didn't have that part in the box. Only the main sensor bit and the spoke bit.

I only just unpacked it so I'm a little confused. It was bought from garmin aust and not overseas :D but I can't take it to the shop as it was a special order through garmin


Yes it should be there. Make sure it's not stuck to the little magnet.
Image
User avatar
DaveOZ
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:15 am
Location: Bowral NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Schmenz » Tue Sep 13, 2011 9:56 pm

Wow. Super blonde moment. Epic long day and obviously not on this planet. I thought the spoke magnet looked a funny shape!

*bangs head on wall*

Totally stuck on the spoke bit.

I'll climb back in my box now!

Thank you!
Newbie to the cycling world.
2011 Giant TCR Advanced W
http://www.sea2summit2011.blogspot.com
User avatar
Schmenz
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:48 am

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby rifraf » Wed Sep 14, 2011 3:38 pm

Schmenz wrote:Wow. Super blonde moment. Epic long day and obviously not on this planet. I thought the spoke magnet looked a funny shape!

*bangs head on wall*

Totally stuck on the spoke bit.

I'll climb back in my box now!

Thank you!

Snap - I had the same blond moment :oops:
Surly Ogre, Carry Freedom Y-frame Trailer, Extrawheel trailer.
User avatar
rifraf
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:55 pm
Location: Two Rocks, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby DaveOZ » Wed Sep 14, 2011 6:59 pm

rifraf wrote:Snap - I had the same blond moment :oops:


How do you think I knew to look on the spoke magnet. :oops:
Image
User avatar
DaveOZ
 
Posts: 1482
Joined: Sun Aug 08, 2010 10:15 am
Location: Bowral NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby rifraf » Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:03 pm

DaveOZ wrote:
How do you think I knew to look on the spoke magnet. :oops:


And when I think how close I got to ring Rob for a rant and to bend his ear :oops:
Surly Ogre, Carry Freedom Y-frame Trailer, Extrawheel trailer.
User avatar
rifraf
 
Posts: 2520
Joined: Fri Apr 15, 2011 5:55 pm
Location: Two Rocks, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby norbs » Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:09 pm

Pretty sure we have all done it. I know I looked for mine for a fair while before it clicked.
User avatar
norbs
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Shoalhaven. NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Mugglechops » Wed Sep 14, 2011 7:14 pm

norbs wrote:
RobGrinter wrote:Yes, as per Boognoss stated, you can get speed from the GPS signal.

You will save your self about $50 if you buy it without the speed/cadence sensor.

We have all the variations available here:
http://www.highlytunedathletes.com.au/default.asp?Keyword=edge+800&page=searchview



Hey Rob. If I bought the basic Edge 800, will it work with the HRM and Speed/Cadense sensor off my Edge 500? I could sell the 500 head unit to help fund the 800.

Thanks.



Can I have first option if you do. I think my 305 is on its last legs. It died this arvo but a software reload fixed it. Hopefully.
User avatar
Mugglechops
 
Posts: 2361
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: Shoalhaven

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby norbs » Wed Sep 14, 2011 9:13 pm

Mugglechops wrote:
Can I have first option if you do. I think my 305 is on its last legs. It died this arvo but a software reload fixed it. Hopefully.



Sorry Lewy, I sent it down a mate in Victoria. Sold it to him cheap as a 40th Birthday present. :)
User avatar
norbs
 
Posts: 2314
Joined: Wed Jul 15, 2009 11:20 am
Location: Shoalhaven. NSW

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Mugglechops » Wed Sep 14, 2011 10:05 pm

Damn. I better start saving for a new one.
User avatar
Mugglechops
 
Posts: 2361
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2011 5:51 pm
Location: Shoalhaven

New Garmin 800

Postby Dr_Mutley » Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:04 am

How's the 800 compare to the edge 705?, for those who upgraded...
Image
Dr_Mutley
 
Posts: 2130
Joined: Fri Jan 11, 2008 1:28 pm
Location: Flagstaff Hill, Adelaide SA 5159

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby RobGrinter » Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:06 am

Schmenz wrote:Should the performance bundle come with the cadence sensor with the g10 part. The booklet shows that you cabletie a part to the crank but I didn't have that part in the box. Only the main sensor bit and the spoke bit.

I only just unpacked it so I'm a little confused. It was bought from garmin aust and not overseas :D but I can't take it to the shop as it was a special order through garmin


Common query solved by this blog:

http://highlytunedathletes.blogspot.com ... dence.html

Special order through Garmin and with NIL support to boot, that doesnt sound quite right ! Garmin dont sell direct, ever !
CheersRob
http://www.HighlyTunedAthletes.com.au/blog
The Specialists in Sport Electronics
RobGrinter
 
Posts: 91
Joined: Wed Jan 06, 2010 10:19 pm

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby petal665 » Sat Sep 17, 2011 6:47 am

RobGrinter wrote:Special order through Garmin and with NIL support to boot, that doesnt sound quite right ! Garmin dont sell direct, ever !

http://buy.garmin.com/shop/shop.do?pID=69043
No direct sale to Australia sure, but other countries they do.
Image
petal665
 
Posts: 1484
Joined: Wed Feb 13, 2008 9:42 am
Location: Red Hill, Brisbane

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Schmenz » Sat Sep 17, 2011 7:47 am

RobGrinter wrote:
Schmenz wrote:Should the performance bundle come with the cadence sensor with the g10 part. The booklet shows that you cabletie a part to the crank but I didn't have that part in the box. Only the main sensor bit and the spoke bit.

I only just unpacked it so I'm a little confused. It was bought from garmin aust and not overseas :D but I can't take it to the shop as it was a special order through garmin


Common query solved by this blog:

http://highlytunedathletes.blogspot.com ... dence.html

Special order through Garmin and with NIL support to boot, that doesnt sound quite right ! Garmin dont sell direct, ever !



no support only coz it was night. could have called them in the morning.

you are correct. garmin aust dont sell direct to the public. i bought it from a non fitness related shop as a special order and so asking them wouldnt have helped as they dont usually sell them and wouldnt have had a clue!

Edit: to clarify - it wasnt purchased through garmin directly but via a shop who ordered the item in for me :)
Newbie to the cycling world.
2011 Giant TCR Advanced W
http://www.sea2summit2011.blogspot.com
User avatar
Schmenz
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:48 am

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Aushiker » Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:04 am

Hi

My Garmin Edge 800 died yesterday, keeping up the Garmin tradition of durability. Was working fine on the ride to the start of the Audax ride. Stopped the timer, reset the ride data in preparation for the 200 and next thing I noticed that the Edge had shut down and was trying to re-boot. Would only get as far as the "loading map" screen. Rode the 200 sans technology. Was an interesting change :)

Managed to get it to do a factory reset after a few attempts. That made no difference. Removing the SD card made difference. Letting the battery go flat and then trying it connected to the computer made no difference.

Off it goes to Rob at Highly Tuned Athletes for Garmin to sort. Thankfully the warranty does not run out till early November.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19972
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Comedian » Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:15 am

I've had mine for about a month now. The HR strap just stopped working. Oh well. The shop will ring them next week.
Once you can climb hills on a bike it's all downhill. :mrgreen:

Hopefully I'll know what that's like..... one day. :shock: :lol:

Image
User avatar
Comedian
 
Posts: 4401
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Marty Moose » Sun Oct 23, 2011 10:17 am

Thats not good Aus let us know how you go. My heart rate monitor has finally started to the garmin I don't want to play thing :( Think I need a new strap I think some others said that fixes it. Any ideas ??

MM
Marty Moose
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Aushiker » Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:07 pm

Marty Moose wrote:Thats not good Aus let us know how you go. My heart rate monitor has finally started to the garmin I don't want to play thing :( Think I need a new strap I think some others said that fixes it. Any ideas ??


I have given up on Garmin straps and now use an Adidas one that came with Adidas Pacer. I don't think you can buy it separately but :(. Others have reported the Polar strap is better. DC Rainmaker has a post on the strap IIRC.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19972
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Comedian » Sun Oct 23, 2011 12:31 pm

Aushiker wrote:
Marty Moose wrote:Thats not good Aus let us know how you go. My heart rate monitor has finally started to the garmin I don't want to play thing :( Think I need a new strap I think some others said that fixes it. Any ideas ??


I have given up on Garmin straps and now use an Adidas one that came with Adidas Pacer. I don't think you can buy it separately but :(. Others have reported the Polar strap is better. DC Rainmaker has a post on the strap IIRC.

Andrew

Thanks for that... top tip! :)

I'll try my garmin transmitter with my polar strap Monday.
Once you can climb hills on a bike it's all downhill. :mrgreen:

Hopefully I'll know what that's like..... one day. :shock: :lol:

Image
User avatar
Comedian
 
Posts: 4401
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Marty Moose » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:18 pm

Comedian wrote:
Aushiker wrote:
Marty Moose wrote:Thats not good Aus let us know how you go. My heart rate monitor has finally started to the garmin I don't want to play thing :( Think I need a new strap I think some others said that fixes it. Any ideas ??


I have given up on Garmin straps and now use an Adidas one that came with Adidas Pacer. I don't think you can buy it separately but :(. Others have reported the Polar strap is better. DC Rainmaker has a post on the strap IIRC.

Andrew

Thanks for that... top tip! :)

I'll try my garmin transmitter with my polar strap Monday.


Let us know how you go PLEASE :)

Marty
Marty Moose
 
Posts: 1405
Joined: Sun Jan 17, 2010 6:00 pm
Location: W.A

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby winstonw » Sun Oct 23, 2011 5:47 pm

Had my 800 for about 4 weeks, and have to say I don't think they are worth $650.
As I suspected, battery life is an issue. More than once now, I've ridden off without it because the unit was on its once per 4 hour charge...and that's with no backlight. I think it is a bit slack if you have to touch the thing to read it, so am not inclined to set that way. Also, the rubber plugs that are supposed to seal the comm ports are already loose.

I am resigned to buying a Bontrager Node 1 computer as a set and forget computer. It is small and ANT+ compatible so will pick up the cadence/speed signal, and only requires a battery change every 10 months based on 7 hours operation per week.
User avatar
winstonw
 
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:18 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Comedian » Sun Oct 23, 2011 6:24 pm

winstonw wrote:Had my 800 for about 4 weeks, and have to say I don't think they are worth $650.
As I suspected, battery life is an issue. More than once now, I've ridden off without it because the unit was on its once per 4 hour charge...and that's with no backlight. I think it is a bit slack if you have to touch the thing to read it, so am not inclined to set that way. Also, the rubber plugs that are supposed to seal the comm ports are already loose.

I am resigned to buying a Bontrager Node 1 computer as a set and forget computer. It is small and ANT+ compatible so will pick up the cadence/speed signal, and only requires a battery change every 10 months based on 7 hours operation per week.


Have you got display set to auto colour? I don't need to turn mine on to read it???

I had about 40% battery left on mine after riding my 210k the other day. Given it was on from about 4:30 until 3:00 (maybe take 1.5 hours for turnaround and meals) I'm very happy with that. They say the battery life is 14 hours so if I had that much after 9 I'm good.
Once you can climb hills on a bike it's all downhill. :mrgreen:

Hopefully I'll know what that's like..... one day. :shock: :lol:

Image
User avatar
Comedian
 
Posts: 4401
Joined: Mon Aug 09, 2010 7:35 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby Schmenz » Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:40 pm

i have mine set to not turn off, and its fine with a 6 -7 hr ride with plenty spare. i just charge it each time.

i did have a weird spaz attack where the gradient got really messed up but its fine now.

mine does not fit on my polar strap. i guess it depends which polar strap you have. mine is relatively old and had the bit that unclipped on either side at the front. They twist as they unclip and theres little plastic knobs which stop it from fitting. I find the polar one much more confortable.
Newbie to the cycling world.
2011 Giant TCR Advanced W
http://www.sea2summit2011.blogspot.com
User avatar
Schmenz
 
Posts: 493
Joined: Thu Sep 08, 2011 10:48 am

Re: New Garmin 800

Postby winstonw » Sun Oct 23, 2011 8:57 pm

Comedian wrote:Have you got display set to auto colour? I don't need to turn mine on to read it???


I took note of what the manual said on Page 47, which is basically, the backlight significantly reduces battery life.
However, without it, my screen is too dark to read, no matter the 10 bar brightness setting. (Next time I see you, maybe we can compare backlight off screen brightness. Maybe mine has a dodgy screen.)

Do you use an anti glare screen protector? Some say it improves readability dramatically with backlight off.
Yes Color Mode is auto. And actually I just checked and I do have the backlight always on, but the brightness turned down to 2/10 bars. (Sorry)

Also I don't have it auto power off, as I don't want to break for a snack on a long ride, and have it power down.....but seems that's a luxury. I don't know what happens to activity data if it powers down at a rest stop. Presume I have to start a new activity.

Battery life and constant need to recharge was what originally put me off buying a garmin gps computer, but a mate reckons he only had to charge his 500 once every 12-15 hours, and so I thought the 800 would be viewable and need a charge every at least every 8-10 hours.

My main justification for buying the 800 was to
- track performance changes over time, by measuring repeated time and avHR on a course of set distance.
- have a reliable HRM.
- pair it with the vector power meter when it comes out.

Anyway, it is what it is. And I have to like it or lump it. :)
User avatar
winstonw
 
Posts: 1793
Joined: Sun Apr 10, 2011 7:18 pm
Location: Brisbane

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot], landyacht, SoRCommute



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU



InTouch with BNA
“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter