Video Camera who uses one?

open topic, for anything cycling related.

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:43 pm

Summernight wrote:$464? How'd you manage that price? The Black listed by itself is $479?

Special customer :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


Just kidding, it was a special deal for those of us subscribed to their email. Limited to the first 25 customers who took up the offer.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

by BNA » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:50 pm

BNA
 

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Summernight » Fri Feb 08, 2013 12:50 pm

Aushiker wrote:
Summernight wrote:$464? How'd you manage that price? The Black listed by itself is $479?

Special customer :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


Just kidding, it was a special deal for those of us subscribed to their email. Limited to the first 25 customers who took up the offer.

Andrew


Noice!!!

Congratulations on being one of the 25. That's a great price for it and the battery bacpac. I hope yours is freeze-free. :)
User avatar
Summernight
 
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Fri Feb 08, 2013 1:39 pm

Summernight wrote:I hope yours is freeze-free. :)


So do I! Just going through he Garmin Edge 800 cannot acquire satellites issue again so really don't want more technology problems.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby KonaCommuter » Fri Feb 08, 2013 2:08 pm

Aushiker wrote:Taken the plunge and placed an order this morning with Highly Tuned Athletes for the GoPro Hero 3 Black Edition and the GoPro HERO3 Battery BacPac. All up $464.00 delivered with local warranty. Cannot complain about that.

Now to get a new 32 GB class 10 card and k-Edge GoPro Go Big handlebar mount.

Regards
Andrew




Ha


I got one as well, although I added the handlebar mount and 64 GB class 10 card. Sucked in by the low price but add a few "extras" and I'm $582 poorer



I'm hoping to get my CCR scalps in slo-mo complete with the look of anguish on the face of my opponents :lol:
2012 Oppy A4 | 200x Hard tail Kona Blast Deluxe
User avatar
KonaCommuter
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Brisbane Northside

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Lukeyboy » Fri Feb 08, 2013 3:15 pm

KonaCommuter wrote:I'm hoping to get my CCR scalps in slo-mo complete with the look of anguish on the face of my opponents :lol:


Pitty you can't do that on the 4K res though. Slow mo with a mega resolution :twisted: :twisted:
Image
User avatar
Lukeyboy
 
Posts: 1841
Joined: Tue May 29, 2012 2:38 am
Location: Brisbane

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Fri Feb 08, 2013 4:05 pm

KonaCommuter wrote:
Aushiker wrote:I got one as well, although I added the handlebar mount and 64 GB class 10 card. Sucked in by the low price but add a few "extras" and I'm $582 poorer


make sure you tether that camera for when your mount breaks ... it will sure to happen as you go for a scalp :)

I got the Scandisk 32GB card from CrazySales for about $20.00 less. Every penny saved helps :)

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Riggsbie » Mon Feb 11, 2013 3:31 pm

Hi All,

I found a new 'feature' with my GoPro3 yesterday/today.....wondered if anyone else has or if there's a work around....

Used it yesterday on my velomobile at Lake Wendouree, it was recording fine, little red flashing light, beeps and everything.....file number increasing etc....

When I got home I plugged it into my PC (win xp) via the USB cable to retrieve the mp4 files and got a message "SD card not formatted".....

I tired the SD in an adaptor in the SD card reader in my work PC (win xp) and it did not work either.....

Just about to give up, I tried in a work colleagues SD card reader (win 7) and it worked fine ???

Anyone else experienced this undocumented feature ?

Thanks

Paul
Image
User avatar
Riggsbie
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Geelong, Vic

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Summernight » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:07 pm

Riggsbie wrote:Hi All,

I found a new 'feature' with my GoPro3 yesterday/today....


Hehe. 'Feature'. I was looking forward to hearing that your GoPro levitates or something. :lol:

I didn't have that issue - I'm assuming you installed the latest firmware?
User avatar
Summernight
 
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Riggsbie » Mon Feb 11, 2013 4:38 pm

Now levitation would be neat ;-)

I did a firmware update when I first got my GoPro3, have there been any new updates recently ?

Whenever I use the CinePro utility and check for updates it does not work.......


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk HD
Image
User avatar
Riggsbie
 
Posts: 620
Joined: Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:55 pm
Location: Geelong, Vic

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby eldavo » Mon Feb 11, 2013 7:49 pm

Anyone current on the latest/greatest 808 versions?
I'm reading back posts a few of preferred suppliers and articles trying to square up on the variables to matrix compare a current short list.

I'm certain I don't want to put $400+ for one or two of the new GoFails just yet despite my appreciation for a quality purpose built platform. Reminds me of an iPod shuffle release several years ago for Xmas when issues are known but you can't miss the Xmas sales, take the cash and deal with the warranty issues later. Gifting and time lapse over holiday season avoids lots of DOA returns and refunds so you hold buyers committed in after sales loop.
The Contour+2 looked nice for GPS integration feature, but price still up there and minor specs not greatest, probably stick with smartphone tracking/logging with date/timestamps for reference if required with velcro pair of 808 good enough start to show off my recent dog attack victim incidents.
eldavo
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:21 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Baalzamon » Mon Feb 11, 2013 8:10 pm

With the latest in gopro 3 issues, got me thinking about still getting a 2nd gopro 2 with wifi bakpac again
Masi Speciale CX 2008 - Brooks B17 special saddle, Garmin Edge 810
Image
Baalzamon
 
Posts: 4390
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:23 pm
Location: Yangebup

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Pushy » Mon Feb 11, 2013 9:50 pm

eldavo wrote:Anyone current on the latest/greatest 808 versions?
I'm reading back posts a few of preferred suppliers and articles trying to square up on the variables to matrix compare a current short list.

Yes, bear in mind that they are not rain/waterproof and limited battery time, so factor in a battery pack.
Les
06' Giant TCR C1
08' Colnago CLX
07' Apollo Swift

VW Jetta Diesel 5.5l/100km
Pushy
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:02 am
Location: Freo WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Summernight » Thu Feb 14, 2013 3:16 pm

A little off topic but I thought that while my GoPro Hero 3 Black was out of commission flying back to its maker under warranty that I'd post a little clip of my trial using the chest mount while jumping my horse over a couple of jumps.

Please be aware that this clip may give you seasickness... :roll: And no, stabilising it using Youtube's stabiliser wouldn't make it better. :lol:

User avatar
Summernight
 
Posts: 1389
Joined: Mon Oct 08, 2012 2:40 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby eldavo » Thu Feb 14, 2013 5:35 pm

Pushy wrote:Yes, bear in mind that they are not rain/waterproof and limited battery time, so factor in a battery pack.

cheers, good point about water bumping me back to the brands. I have a Panasonic Lumix FT1 (first gen of their HD shock/waterproof pocketable) and it opens up a new world of convenient photos/video around water. Back to looking at the brand options... be nice to find out when GPH3Black is fixed.
eldavo
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:21 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Fri Feb 15, 2013 8:59 pm

Well off to a good start with my GoPro .... :wink: Just sent the following off to GoPro support. Anyone have any experiences with the Battery BacPac? Have missed doing something?

Hi

I have a brand new Hero3 Black and a Hero3 Battery BacPac. I have attached the Battery BacPack to the camera as per the manual.

According to the manual the camera should show battery status for both the internal camera and the BacPac. I am not getting two status icons, just one for what I assume is the camera.

Plugging in the USB cable to the BacPac does not result in any indication of charging. There is no animated icon.

I have tried charging the BacPac both connected and disconnected to the camera without any change in status.

I am able to charge the internal battery okay with the animated icon and red light.

Please advise if there is a possible fix for getting the BacPac recognised and charged.


Thanks
Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Fri Feb 15, 2013 9:05 pm

Aushiker wrote:Well off to a good start with my GoPro .... :wink: Just sent the following off to GoPro support. Anyone have any experiences with the Battery BacPac? Have missed doing something?


Looks like I found the fix for the charging at least. I needed to initially plug in both batteries together to give it a jump start to to speak. Now charging both batteries :)

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby KonaCommuter » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:44 am

Aushiker wrote:
Aushiker wrote:Well off to a good start with my GoPro .... :wink: Just sent the following off to GoPro support. Anyone have any experiences with the Battery BacPac? Have missed doing something?


Looks like I found the fix for the charging at least. I needed to initially plug in both batteries together to give it a jump start to to speak. Now charging both batteries :)

Andrew



LOL - I had the same issue.
2012 Oppy A4 | 200x Hard tail Kona Blast Deluxe
User avatar
KonaCommuter
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Brisbane Northside

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Sat Feb 16, 2013 11:49 am

KonaCommuter wrote:
Aushiker wrote:
Aushiker wrote:Well off to a good start with my GoPro .... :wink: Just sent the following off to GoPro support. Anyone have any experiences with the Battery BacPac? Have missed doing something?


Looks like I found the fix for the charging at least. I needed to initially plug in both batteries together to give it a jump start to to speak. Now charging both batteries :)

Andrew



LOL - I had the same issue.


On the camera are you getting two battery icons? I am only getting one and the manual suggest there should be two.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby KonaCommuter » Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:43 pm

Aushiker wrote:On the camera are you getting two battery icons? I am only getting one and the manual suggest there should be two.

Andrew


One battery icon. Could the second icon be the one that is on the battery pack?

I'm presuming the number 4H:30 means that (AT) 960 - 100 means that I can record for 4 1/2 hours at 960p & 100 FPS. The time didn't change when I put on the battery pack....... Battery pack is fully charged

I'm still in the early stages of learning the ins and outs of the camera. There's certainly a learning curve, whereas the Contour Roam is simple as.


Early impressions

GoPro 3 Black - more versatile, larger memory capacity (64 gb)
Contour Roam - User friendly, more suited as a helmet cam than the GoPro. Want to start recording? Just slide the slide and you're good to go.


Whilst I'm at it, would it hurt to ship the batteries fully charged? The WiFi remote and camera (sold together in the same pack) already synced?
2012 Oppy A4 | 200x Hard tail Kona Blast Deluxe
User avatar
KonaCommuter
 
Posts: 976
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 8:28 pm
Location: Brisbane Northside

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Crittski » Sat Feb 16, 2013 1:18 pm

GoPro mounts are heaps better than Contour mounts ( I have the VIO POV cam, Contour Roam, Contour GPS, GoPro Black cams). I am having so much fun running the GP Black at 240fps, the slow mo is awesome!!
Santa Cruz Blur TRc XTR
Volagi Liscio Ultegra
Crittski
 
Posts: 391
Joined: Sat Oct 02, 2010 7:06 am

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Boognoss » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:36 pm

Aushiker wrote:
KonaCommuter wrote:
Aushiker wrote:[quote="Aushiker"]Well off to a good start with my GoPro .... :wink: Just sent the following off to GoPro support. Anyone have any experiences with the Battery BacPac? Have missed doing something?



Looks like I found the fix for the charging at least. I needed to initially plug in both batteries together to give it a jump start to to speak. Now charging both batteries :)

Andrew



LOL - I had the same issue.


On the camera are you getting two battery icons? I am only getting one and the manual suggest there should be two.

Andrew[/quote]


The icon on the Hero3 changes with the battery pack.

No BacPac:

Image

With Bacpac:

Image

Are you not seeing that? The first time I charged up my Bacpac it took a while to even look alive or display on its own LCD panel.
Avanti Quantum, Salsa Casseroll, Specialized Tricross
Image
User avatar
Boognoss
Super Mod
Super Mod
 
Posts: 5668
Joined: Sat Nov 10, 2007 10:45 am
Location: Castle Hill, NSW

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby eldavo » Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:49 pm

KonaCommuter wrote:Whilst I'm at it, would it hurt to ship the batteries fully charged? The WiFi remote and camera (sold together in the same pack) already synced?

Battery tech says something like 80% capacity for LiIon to store with least self discharge.
eldavo
 
Posts: 733
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 12:21 am
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby trailgumby » Sat Feb 16, 2013 4:55 pm

Summernight wrote:A little off topic but I thought that while my GoPro Hero 3 Black was out of commission flying back to its maker under warranty that I'd post a little clip of my trial using the chest mount while jumping my horse over a couple of jumps.

Please be aware that this clip may give you seasickness... :roll: And no, stabilising it using Youtube's stabiliser wouldn't make it better. :lol:



First person view of Gangnam Style :lol:
"People have a right to their own opinions, but not their own facts. Evidence must be located, not created, and opinions not backed by evidence cannot be given much weight." -- James W Loewen

http://www.facebook.com/Drive2WorkDay
User avatar
trailgumby
 
Posts: 9894
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 4:30 pm
Location: Northern Beaches, Sydney

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:03 pm

KonaCommuter wrote:
Aushiker wrote:On the camera are you getting two battery icons? I am only getting one and the manual suggest there should be two.

Andrew


One battery icon. Could the second icon be the one that is on the battery pack?


With the Hero3 and the Battery BacPac installed there should be two battery status icons showing on the camera. I have now got mine working. Had to do a firmware upgrade manually.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Re: Video Camera who uses one?

Postby Aushiker » Sat Feb 16, 2013 6:04 pm

Boognoss wrote:Are you not seeing that? The first time I charged up my Bacpac it took a while to even look alive or display on its own LCD panel.


Thanks. I am now that I have done a firmware upgrade.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19393
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], MSNbot Media



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist