A year in the life of a wannabe racer.

ldrcycles

Postby ldrcycles » Mon Jan 02, 2012 12:57 am

I've been entering races (mostly MTB) for a couple of years now at a VERY amateur level and my main new years resolution this year is to get serious about it. So i thought it might be interesting to write about the journey (and to provide a little extra motivation).

Starting the year, i am reasonably strong (easily able to get into the 50s in a sprint) but very short on aerobic fitness, so my focus for January and February is on high cadence training, along with plenty of cross training, particularly running and swimming. Last year i had some issues with lower back pain, which i am hoping to address with a daily stretching routine, and regular massages. Once i have made a dent on the awfully tight muscles i have at the moment i'm intending on going to a chiro/physio to sort out some misalignment issues. At the moment i am sitting on 87 kgs, i'm not intending on losing weight, as all going well i should be putting on some nice heavy muscles but it will be interesting to see what happens.

Today i was intending to do a 100k morning ride but events conspired against it and i had to settle for a 10k ride at 10:30 this evening. I threw in a couple of what could laughingly be referred to as efforts to make myself feel better about the distance :) . If tomorrow goes according to plan i will be heading north from Coolum to Peregian, then south to the southern side of Buderim for a bit of climbing, probably about 80-90k. Following that up with a stretch, jog to the beach for a swim, then another stretch, shower and a good lie down :D .
"I must be rather keen on cycling"- Sir Hubert Opperman.

Road Record Association of Australia

RonK

Postby RonK » Mon Jan 02, 2012 8:08 am

I've just returned from a week on the Sunshine Coast, where I enjoyed a daily ride on the Tinbeerwah circuit from Noosaville. Have fun playing in the holiday traffic.