Advice needed! Boss doesn't want me riding to work...

AScyclist21

Advice needed! Boss doesn't want me riding to work...

Postby AScyclist21 » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:50 am

Hey all,

I've had a bit of a situation start recently at work where my boss has quite literally used the phrase "it's up to you how you get to work... but... you can't ride your bike". Now I don't show up sweaty and untidy so I had no idea where this came from.

My question to anyone that has either had this happen or is familiar with the law is this. Does he actually have a legal leg to stand on? For one, it doesn't state in my contract anywhere that the company has a say in how I get to work and if they aren't going to provide a car or other transport (I had asked when confronted) then I'm sure as hell not going to stop riding my bike!

Any feedback would be of great help, even if only to bounce the idea off of some other minds. I work in IT btw... Maybe they are jealous that I am fit lol :D
Focus Izalco Pro 1.0 (2013)
Cannondale CAAD10 (2013)

Mulger bill
Super Mod
Super Mod

Re: Advice needed! Boss doesn't want me riding to work...

Postby Mulger bill » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:55 am

He prolly thinks riding is too dangerous and you are too valuable to the organisation... :roll:

Ask him to put it in writing: reasoning, pros and cons the full deal.

Alternately, you could say: "OK, as soon as the full subsidy company car and parking spot are delivered."
...whatever the road rules, self-preservation is the absolute priority for a cyclist when mixing it with motorised traffic.
London Boy 29/12/2011

skull

Postby skull » Tue Oct 02, 2012 8:57 am

He is most likely anti bike.

Sent from my not iDevice using Tapatalk 2

zero

Postby zero » Tue Oct 02, 2012 9:03 am

He can't stop you from riding your bike to work. its also a completely normal thing, done by millions of people all around the world.

He may be able to stop you storing the bike on company property though if he is particularly small minded.