1,000km in 7 days around Tassie!

DaveintheRedlands

1,000km in 7 days around Tassie!

Postby DaveintheRedlands » Wed Oct 03, 2012 7:50 am

Hi all,

I'm new to both cycling and this forum but have learned so much from trawling around - thank you!

At the end of November, myself and a group of 40 others will be riding 1000km round Tassie in 7 days. When I signed up, no-one told me there were so many hills there! I have two questions and a request ...

1. I'm looking for some good (and easily digestable - no pun intended) information on nutrition - both generally in the lead up to such a big ride, but also pre- and post- ride necessities. There is a lot of information on the web but I'm keen to know how you would approach the next 8 weeks or so if you were doing this ride.

2. Back to the hills, I've read in a few places about 'bigger cogs and bigger pedal shafts' as being useful for hills. I currently have a Shimano 105 5700 10 speed Cassette but am wondering what other options I might have (and how easy it is to change!).

(Apologies again for my lack of understanding of all this, I only started riding 8 weeks ago!).

And finally a request for those of you on Facebook. The good people at REID Cycles have offered to donate $1 bike value for every Like we get on our Facebook page. If you are able to, please consider liking us - it won't cost you anything and you'll be helping a fabulous cause. Thank you.

http://www.facebook.com/ReidCyclesSuppo ... eChallenge" onclick="window.open(this.href);return false;

RonK

Re: 1,000km in 7 days around Tassie!

Postby RonK » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:52 am

The east coast hills were challenging using 39x25 gearing, but the west coast hills are even more difficult.
I suggest a cassette with a 27 or 28 tooth low gear, perhaps with a compact crankset.
Tasmania is very hilly - you are in for a hard ride.
Cycle touring blog and tour journals: whispering wheels...

zero

Postby zero » Wed Oct 03, 2012 8:57 am