Stages Power Meter

open topic, for anything cycling related.

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ianlisle » Fri Jul 26, 2013 11:55 am

fitwerx dot com

I've had 3 supplied from there, my SRAM (Rival, the only SRAM one as higher groups are carbon cranks), an Ultegra 6700 and a 9000 series Dura Ace.

No issues, easy to deal with and always responded to emails. They also set out an email to advise to update firmware

(not affiliated in any way!)
User avatar
ianlisle
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:57 pm

by BNA » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:58 pm

BNA
 

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby dalai47 » Fri Jul 26, 2013 12:58 pm

ianlisle wrote:fitwerx dot com


How long ago? On Transitions tri forum recent post suggests they have stopped sending OS. Stages have openly stated they aren't shipping OS at this time so probably had a quiet word with fitwerx...

I'm still wary of products that only measure one side (Stages and Ergomo) and assume equal balance. Would rather a used SRM or powertap. Even the P2Max V2 have sorted the temp drift issue of V1 and doesn't cost much more than the Stages.
dalai47
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:28 am

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ianlisle » Fri Jul 26, 2013 4:19 pm

Last two (Uletgra and Dura Ace) received just over a month ago, sorry if they have since stopped, I didn't know.

I mentioned in an earlier message that I have no comparison data of my own, I've found it a great tool in its own right, but can't prove one way or the other what it's absolute accuracy is. In my case I got tired of waiting for the Garmin pedals, had considered the p2Max as well, but went with the lower price point as an entry into power training, and so far have been happy with my purchasing decision - certainly not for everybody though.

I linked to the latest DC Rainmaker post only to highlight the difference of opinion that he has had.
User avatar
ianlisle
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:57 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Xplora » Thu Aug 01, 2013 7:32 pm

Well how is it going???
Xplora
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby dale79 » Thu Aug 01, 2013 7:47 pm

dalai47 wrote:
ianlisle wrote:fitwerx dot com


How long ago? On Transitions tri forum recent post suggests they have stopped sending OS. Stages have openly stated they aren't shipping OS at this time so probably had a quiet word with fitwerx...

I'm still wary of products that only measure one side (Stages and Ergomo) and assume equal balance. Would rather a used SRM or powertap. Even the P2Max V2 have sorted the temp drift issue of V1 and doesn't cost much more than the Stages.


mine is on its way from them now
dale79
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby AndrewBurns » Thu Aug 01, 2013 7:52 pm

What are the options for a crank-based power meter for campy? SRM only?
Image
AndrewBurns
 
Posts: 992
Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:36 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Xplora » Thu Aug 01, 2013 7:55 pm

Yup, for a "genuine" Campy look, SRM FTW.
Xplora
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Xplora » Sat Aug 03, 2013 2:13 pm

Hey Dale, can you give some details about what kit you're using that made you think "stages"? (Posting here as it might answer some questions for others). How many wheels? How many bikes? How many crank sizes? Was it mainly the money - but you just sold a powertap trainer wheel...
Xplora
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby you cannot be sirrus » Sat Aug 03, 2013 3:00 pm

A guy I occasionally ride with bought 2 DA stages PM, both have been sent back to the US due to water ingress making them useless after a couple of wet rides (not overly wet apparently). He's replaced them with a crank based system I believe.
Scott CR1
you cannot be sirrus
 
Posts: 722
Joined: Sun Apr 25, 2010 4:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby dale79 » Sat Aug 03, 2013 7:22 pm

Xplora wrote:Hey Dale, can you give some details about what kit you're using that made you think "stages"? (Posting here as it might answer some questions for others). How many wheels? How many bikes? How many crank sizes? Was it mainly the money - but you just sold a powertap trainer wheel...


the PT wheel is great, but its heavy and wasn't great for racing on.. I have 2 road bikes and 3 sets of wheels (dura ace tubs for racing, Fulcrum Quattors and RS61 shimano setup tubeless for training on) so racing was never really a option with the PT..

I have a ultegra arm coming and ill swap it between my 2 bikes..
dale79
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ParkertR » Sun Aug 04, 2013 6:27 pm

Hey dale - i'm interested in getting an ultegra arm as well. Could you pass on the contact? I'm not too keen on the Garmin pedals. Cheers mate!
Please CLICK HERE to check out my fundraiser and consider a small donation to support this cause. Thank you!
User avatar
ParkertR
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby dale79 » Sun Aug 04, 2013 7:46 pm

the contact is listed above in this thread :) fitworx
dale79
 
Posts: 394
Joined: Tue Mar 27, 2012 10:28 am

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Xplora » Sun Aug 04, 2013 8:47 pm

Could you physically attach the 105 crank arm to the 6700/6800/9000 cranks? That seems like the best plan to me. Could even get a mismatched colour just to make it obvious you were running power lol
Xplora
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ParkertR » Sun Aug 04, 2013 11:08 pm

Thanks dale! Just saw it!! :D
Please CLICK HERE to check out my fundraiser and consider a small donation to support this cause. Thank you!
User avatar
ParkertR
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ianlisle » Mon Aug 05, 2013 7:08 am

Xplora wrote:Could you physically attach the 105 crank arm to the 6700/6800/9000 cranks? That seems like the best plan to me. Could even get a mismatched colour just to make it obvious you were running power lol


Absolutely. It would simply be mismatched, but would definitely work. On SRAM if you have a higher level groupset you have no option except to go with a mismatched crank arm as both Force and Red groups have carbon cranks and Stages only works with aluminium (Rival)

As for how its going, my own experiences are all positive which is why I purchased a second one when I bought a new bike (went from SRAM to Shimano).
I have had no issues with either of mine thankfully.
User avatar
ianlisle
 
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Jul 23, 2013 1:57 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Xplora » Mon Aug 05, 2013 8:46 am

It did occur to me that you'd get different stiffness in the two crankarms... but it's a big hunk of aluminium, what difference could it make?

The 105 is 200 bucks cheaper than the DA9000 and let's get serious here... you're paying for the technology, the actual arm is worth about 50 bucks on a DA crank.
Xplora
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ParkertR » Wed Aug 07, 2013 1:52 am

@Dale - i emailed them but didn't get any response... how's your Stages power meter? Has it arrived? I've been reading up and apparently some guy's stages drowned after a wet ride o.O!
Please CLICK HERE to check out my fundraiser and consider a small donation to support this cause. Thank you!
User avatar
ParkertR
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ParkertR » Wed Aug 07, 2013 2:06 am

UPDATE: I just got a reply...

"As of two weeks ago, we have been told by Stages that they will have a distributor in Australia in the next 1-2 months and that we can no longer ship to folks out of the country on new orders. I'm sorry that we cannot help directly with this any longer as the only way we can provide a Sages is in shop or to ship to a U.S. address. Hope this helps and we will be fulfilling any outstanding current orders we have for your mates in Australia... Ian"
Please CLICK HERE to check out my fundraiser and consider a small donation to support this cause. Thank you!
User avatar
ParkertR
 
Posts: 51
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 8:05 pm
Location: Perth, Western Australia

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby iaintas » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:29 am

That probably means its going to be twice the price here!
Image
iaintas
 
Posts: 275
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2010 10:37 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Xplora » Wed Aug 07, 2013 9:00 am

I got the same email. They must be getting a lot.
I don't get it. All purchases are routed through the Stages website. There is no reason for them to waste time with a local distributor unless they are expecting a lot of warranty claims.
Xplora
 
Posts: 4663
Joined: Fri Dec 10, 2010 11:33 pm

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby ozdavo » Wed Aug 07, 2013 11:52 am

***cough*** http://www.myus.com/ ***cough***


Sent from my iThingy using Tapatalk
Always looking for new rides & ride partners in SE QLD area
User avatar
ozdavo
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 12:03 pm
Location: Gold Coast (nth)

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Evo6point5 » Wed Aug 07, 2013 5:35 pm

Will check out the link. Not keen on 2 months plus local delivery time.. far too impatient
Evo6point5
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Canning Vale

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby dalai47 » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:44 pm

ozdavo wrote:***cough*** http://www.myus.com/ ***cough***


Perhaps not... From http://weightweenies.starbike.com/forum ... 5#p1005498

just got my order cancelled cause I tried getting to shipped to a Freight Forwarder. Anyone managed to get it shipped international from any 3rd party dealers?
dalai47
 
Posts: 361
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:28 am

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby singlespeedscott » Wed Aug 07, 2013 6:52 pm

Sounds like slot of hassle to me for something that hasn't had the greatest preproduction reviews.
Image
User avatar
singlespeedscott
 
Posts: 2679
Joined: Sun Jan 20, 2008 3:35 pm
Location: Elimbah, Queensland

Re: Stages Power Meter

Postby Evo6point5 » Wed Aug 07, 2013 10:15 pm

Is a hassle but nothing else in the price range really and DC's re-review was pretty solid and looks like the best value/$.. it's not pre-production either, it's been out for months.. wasn't 100% with the original firmware but seems sorted with the updates to be reliable and accurate enough for my needs

The closest option would be Power2Max at nearly double the price or a Powertap which is useless to me as I use different wheelsets. Not interested in buying a power meter second hand.

That said, will probably wait for Aussie dealer since I imagine returning it would be a bitch if purchased from overseas as they may well refuse local support which would suck
Evo6point5
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Sun Jan 09, 2011 4:56 pm
Location: Canning Vale

PreviousNext

Return to General discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: ColinOldnCranky, Halycon, WarbyD



Top Bikes & Gear
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Cell Bikes Cell Bikes AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Ebay Ebay AU
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist