trouble cornering/turning

ftssjk

trouble cornering/turning

Postby ftssjk » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:15 pm

I'm relatively new to road bikes and clipless pedals.
ive done probably 250kms all up.
Im finding it quite hard to corner/turn.

I always worry at which point my pedal/shoe will hit the tyre,
as well as falling over with my clipless pedals in.

any suggestions?

sogood

Re: trouble cornering/turning

Postby sogood » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:19 pm

Most of the time you don't need to pedal on a turn. So extend your outer leg and lean your bike into the corner. You don't need to significantly turn the steering wheel unless it's really slow speed, hence no toe strike risks.
Bianchi, Ridley, Tern, Montague and All things Apple :)
RK wrote:And that is Wikipedia - I can write my own definition.

human909

Postby human909 » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:19 pm

ftssjk wrote:I always worry at which point my pedal/shoe will hit the tyre
Only on very short frames doesn't this normally occur and only a low speeds as at higher speeds the front wheel barely turns. If this is a problem the don't pedal during small radius turns.

The bigger worry on higher speed cornering is the pedal hitting the ground which is why on tight high speed corners you can't pedal and need to raise the inside pedal.

il padrone

Postby il padrone » Tue Feb 19, 2013 1:27 pm

Yes, toe-overlap only becomes a problem with very slow speed maneuvering turns, or track-standing at the lights. Can be annoying but not a huge risk. Plenty of peole ride bikes with some toe-overlap. When riding faster (>15kmh) your steering hardly moves when you are cornering.