Question for Garmin Etrex users

open topic, for anything cycling related.

Question for Garmin Etrex users

Postby Walst » Wed Jul 10, 2013 7:18 pm

Hi people, I recently bought a second-hand Etrex 30 to use as my bike computer, but I'm a little lost as to how to use the thing. It doesn't seem to be the most intuitive bit of kit I've ever purchased. I'm hoping some of you who are familiar with the Etrex or Garmin in general can give me a little basic direction. As a disclaimer I should say I am a complete GPS newbie - never used a car sat nav or anything like that.

Basically I would like to map out bicycle routes (maybe on the PC) for Perth and then be able to follow them on my device. The default maps don't give any detail, so I'm assuming I need to download some maps.'

There's also a slot for a micro SD card - am I to assume this is required to store downloaded maps or is there room already on the device to store them?

Cheers in advance
Walst

by BNA » Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:51 pm

BNA

Re: Question for Garmin Etrex users

Postby sogood » Wed Jul 10, 2013 8:51 pm

Welcome to the GPS world.

For your desires, it's not going to be steps 1, 2 and 3, and explained in a few lines on a forum. But it's not that difficult.

For a start with the aim of cycling, you should at least do the following.

*** Read the instruction manual ***

Then,

1) Download Garmin's BaseCamp (along with its MapInstall and MapManager softwares) on your Mac/PC and have it linked to your eTrex with supplied USB cable.
2) Download Routable OSM (Opene Street Map) bicycle map data for your area of interest from <http://garmin.openstreetmap.nl>. Just load your limited area. Greedy requests will draw a big file that takes a long time to download (slowish free server).
3) Install downloaded map both into BaseCamp as well as on your eTrex30 (1.7GB should be enough storage within the unit for most without microSD supplement).