Beginner Cycling Perth

Nardia

Beginner Cycling Perth

Postby Nardia » Mon Oct 02, 2017 3:46 pm

Hi there,

I am a bit of a novice at cycling but what to get better for triathlons. I've got a bit of road cycling experience from previous tris and training by my self but I dropped off in the last half a year. I'm wanting to get back into it an join a cycling group but first I thought I better do some solo training and get my fitness back. Can anyone recommend a beginner cycling circuit or some sort of flat road in Perth I can just ride along and not worry too much about traffic etc? I live in Subi but happy to drive a bit to get to a better riding sport.

Any advice would be much appreciated!

Scott_C

Re: Beginner Cycling Perth

Postby Scott_C » Mon Oct 02, 2017 8:56 pm

If you avoid peak commuter times then the PSP (Principal Shared Path) along the Fremantle Railway heading into the city and then the PSP along the Kwinana Freeway is going to be the best option for mindless flat cycling (anything up to an Imperial Century will only have to deal with the one road crossing at Cranford Ave.)

If that is a bit boring you can do loops of the Narrows and Causeway bridges (or Narrows and Windham Bridge if you are willing to give CoP the finger and ride over Trafalgar Bridge in Claisebrook), Canning and Mt Henry bridges (there is a shared path all way round but it is unsuitable for reasonable speed cycling on the western side of the loop so you will need to do that section on-road or use it for a cool-down) or an extended loop using Roe Hwy and then coming back into the city along the Armadale Railway line (mostly on-road alongside the railway but off-road until that point), includes a few small hills compared to the other options.