Action Cameras

brumby33

Action Cameras

Postby brumby33 » Sun Nov 12, 2017 9:39 pm

G'day members,

After watching countless videos on Youtube & FB on Tour Cycling and the captions they get on their videos has inspired me to start looking at an action camera just to capture some of my rides and learn how to document, edit a short film, mainly just for myself but if I get reasonable at it, might load it up on the tube for fun.
I'm a complete novice though and still trying to get my head around the digital photography thing but I thought that it's worth learning. I did a quick search on the forum for similar topics but anything I found besides the fly 6 types of cams was hard to find or info outdated for the current models out there.
I did a bit of browsing today at Good Guys as they had a Go Pro sessions (i think it was equivelent to the sessions4) which had wifi and blue tooth and waterproof without case for $218 which I though would be a good starting point..all the Go-pro 5's were $400 plus and now they have a go-pro 6 available at JB HiFi. I wanted to do some more research before purchase so I went to JB and they also had a Sony range, Nikon as well as Kaiser Baas which price wise and feature wise good value at $299 for their highest model with 4K ability. Not much internet info on the kaiser Baas at present and I don't know it's origins but sounds pretty German to me.

Has anyone here recently delved into action cams and which did you buy and why?

I don't know if I'd experiment with the underwater ability with these cams at first but will probably try it eventually. Just about all action cams available except Go-Pro must have a water case with camera inside whereas GP is water proof uncased for 10 metres or so.

Should I go with the cheaper model or spend extra to get the Hero 5 sessions at $399 which is a huge jump in price?