New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

simonf00
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:41 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby simonf00 » Fri Jun 29, 2018 1:58 am

li2099 wrote:I've just tried the latest firmware update for the Fly6CE again.
It says DSP firmware: 1.1.25.6
Is that the latest as on Cycliq: 1.1.25.636
https://support.cycliq.com/support/solu ... t-firmware



On mine, when I check on the Mac App it shows the correct version (1.1.25.636). On the iOS App it shows 1.1.25.6. Strange.

User avatar
AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13206
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:14 am
Location: Sydney & Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby AUbicycles » Fri Jun 29, 2018 5:32 pm

My guess is that it is just be truncated and the last two digits are cut. Typically, the firmware updated have much bigger jumps in the versioning.

Jmuzz
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:42 pm

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby Jmuzz » Sat Jun 30, 2018 3:08 pm

Chopping off the last two digits is a known bug.
If you read config.txt from the SD card you will see the full number in there.

li2099
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:25 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby li2099 » Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:15 pm

Thanks for the responses.

User avatar
Drizt
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 9:51 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby Drizt » Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:18 pm

Definitely my last cycliq product. They have been far too slow in fixing the video quality issues.

User avatar
Drizt
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 9:51 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby Drizt » Tue Jul 17, 2018 10:56 am

To the Wahoo users.

Are you having the same issues (GPS) when using the Fly12CE ?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5g6juJ5SkzM

dmwill
Posts: 522
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:13 am
Location: Perth, NOR

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby dmwill » Tue Jul 24, 2018 10:21 pm

My 6CE has failed after 5 weeks and just a few rides. Conveniently it stopped working on a wet, dark road at 5:30am this morning - I didn't know for about 8km :shock:

Camera lens is all fogged up and there is condensation over the LEDs. Interestingly enough my friend had the same issue a week prior.
I'm guessing our's are both from the bad batch with the dodgy seal (we got ours from the same store, maybe a few months apart).

I recall having to register my unit and serial when I setup the phone app - I wonder if Cycliq ever thought of informing customers who may have the bad batch or if they are just waiting for people to complain?

dmwill
Posts: 522
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2011 1:13 am
Location: Perth, NOR

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby dmwill » Wed Jul 25, 2018 2:10 pm

New unit being sent out.

The quality control isn't quite there in my opinion with Cycliq products (I've had 2 warranty replacements on my older gen 2). But to Cycliq's credit they sort out warranty issues rather quickly!

One minor annoyance with the velcro straps is the rubber backing - the longer strap is folded in the box, when you unfold it, the rubber backing has a tenancy to stick together and tear.

User avatar
Drizt
Posts: 1089
Joined: Sat May 10, 2014 9:51 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby Drizt » Wed Jul 25, 2018 2:12 pm

Probably going to get rid of my Fly12CE. I don't really use the light part of it, so can anyone else make some suggestions?

I'm thinking about getting a GoPro Hero 6 and extended battery. To my surprise, there isn't many viable extended batteries that are waterproof.

User avatar
jaseyjase
Posts: 2796
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Perth

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby jaseyjase » Wed Aug 29, 2018 2:26 pm

tomee wrote:are there any good mounts for under the saddle?

i dont have much seatpost real estate because im a shortarse.


Saddle rail mount and the cycliq adapter works well as previously mentioned, however im running an ass saver so i used a 3D printed bracket instead

if you have a bit of room to install the mount, you should be ok.

Image

li2099
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:25 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby li2099 » Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:30 pm

Well after yesterday's wet ride back from work, I noticed my Fly6CE has the same fogged up lens as others.
Image
Gonna contact Pushys to warranty it.
Really don't want to ride around without one.

User avatar
AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13206
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:14 am
Location: Sydney & Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby AUbicycles » Mon Sep 03, 2018 4:21 am

If you are an early buyer @li2099, this is most likely the 'known' assembly issue which affected the rubber seal.

The corrected versions have a slightly different feel to the rubber and a better fit. Strangely, in many many months since riding the replacement, I have not had a single ride with heavier rain.

Until you get it sorted, I was actually able to keep the rubber seal open (with a rubber band) and allow the moisture to dry over a few days... after which the unit continued to work. That could be a temporary solution... If Pushys are slow.. although they are actually your first point of contact, the next option is Cycliq.... and they are usually fairly swift.

Jmuzz
Posts: 539
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:42 pm

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby Jmuzz » Mon Sep 03, 2018 8:33 am

Contact ben.hammond@cycliq.com first, he was the one looking after the lens leak issues back a few months ago and fastracked the process. Was sending out replacement before posting back and then paying shipping refund.

li2099
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Oct 14, 2013 9:25 am

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby li2099 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 10:15 am

Thanks guys. I guess I might have been the early users as I got it as soon as Pushys had it.

User avatar
jaseyjase
Posts: 2796
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Perth

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby jaseyjase » Wed Sep 05, 2018 12:15 pm

Any recommendations for editing software for Fly6CE?

im using VirbEdit, and i can import and edit ok, but it fails to export.

anyone else have similar issues? fixes?

cheers

User avatar
AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13206
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:14 am
Location: Sydney & Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby AUbicycles » Wed Sep 05, 2018 6:34 pm

On the mac - quicktime is basic but still (should) allow you to trim and export in various resolutions. The best case scenario is probably getting VirbEdit to work than get something new - I would check the version, try a clean install and also test various simple exports and see if you can work around the problem.

User avatar
jaseyjase
Posts: 2796
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Perth

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby jaseyjase » Wed Sep 05, 2018 10:14 pm

AUbicycles wrote:On the mac - quicktime is basic but still (should) allow you to trim and export in various resolutions. The best case scenario is probably getting VirbEdit to work than get something new - I would check the version, try a clean install and also test various simple exports and see if you can work around the problem.


Turns out i hadnt updated the software like i thought i had :oops:

Now on 5.4.2 :D

exports fine :wink:

User avatar
AUbicycles
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 13206
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:14 am
Location: Sydney & Frankfurt
Contact:

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby AUbicycles » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:07 am

My suggestion for the next technical problem jaseyjase will be to see if the computer is plugged in!

User avatar
jaseyjase
Posts: 2796
Joined: Tue Apr 21, 2009 2:00 pm
Location: Perth

Re: New Fly6 CE and Fly12 CE Camera's

Postby jaseyjase » Thu Sep 06, 2018 1:20 am

AUbicycles wrote:My suggestion for the next technical problem jaseyjase will be to see if the computer is plugged in!


:mrgreen:

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: duncan16v, Google [Bot]