Looking for recommendations to buy Bike Front and Rear lights

Redfin

Looking for recommendations to buy Bike Front and Rear lights

Postby Redfin » Tue Nov 21, 2017 11:02 pm

Hi all,

I was looking for recommendations for buying front and rear lights for my Scott Road Bike.
Need something around $60 and needs to be bright so that I am visible and also so I can see ahead of me.
Any recommendations would be highly appreciated.

RobertL

Re: Looking for recommendations to buy Bike Front and Rear lights

Postby RobertL » Wed Nov 22, 2017 11:07 am

Ride On magazine used to do a lights test every year. Here is the 2017 one: https://rideonmagazine.com.au/best-bike-lights-2017/

Basically, though, almost any rear light is going to be OK.

Front lights depend on where you ride and how well lit it is. I use a 100 lumen light for all general commuting and riding duties - including pre-dawn and post-sunset rides.

I had to upgrade to a 680 lumen front light when I started riding Mt Coot-tha at night here in Brisbane regularly. It's poorly lit and I needed better lighting for the descent.

Then I see plenty of MTBers up there who have far, far more powerful lighting than that, on their bikes and on their helmets.

g-boaf

Postby g-boaf » Wed Nov 22, 2017 10:07 pm

Might not be at your price range, but consider Ay-Ups for your front lights and go for the bigger battery. Those are very dependable lights. Mine have lasted for god knows how long. And they are very good for long bike rides at night in very dark areas.

Rear lights, Moon tend to do very good ones.

Kev365428

Postby Kev365428 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 8:48 am

I've had my Ay-Ups for about 6 years now, and whilst they were great to start off with, lately I've started to notice that the beam isn't penetrating like it once used to. Maybe the battery is getting old, or the LED is degrading, but I'm sure it isn't as powerful as it once was.

Might be time for an upgrade.

Kev.

g-boaf

Postby g-boaf » Thu Nov 23, 2017 9:02 am