Do you pump your tyre to the max psi? and my bad experience today

fauziozi

Do you pump your tyre to the max psi? and my bad experience today

Postby fauziozi » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:13 pm

Hi guys,

newbie here, just started cycling in Melbourne -- commuting from Kew to Dockland.

today was somewhat a dangerous ride for me, and I think it was caused by the tyre being over-inflated. Though, I might be wrong.

I always pump the tyre to the max as suggested by the bike shop to minimise chances of puncture, and I just pumped it again this morning until the needle is right at the 80psi mark. But the riding experience was bad, it was more bumpy than usual. But what made it dangerous was the tyre avoid obstacles like a plague, I could hit a small rock in front of me or even just a little crack on the road -- and it threw my ride sideways like never before.

Worst one was when I was turning right on a traffic light, and there was a tram line. The tyre immediately slide into the rail-crack and I almost fell over right in the middle of the intersection. Lucky I was going slowly so I could immediately landed my foot, there wasn't many cars, and as it was in the middle of brunswick rd (i.e. crowded street) the cars were moving slowly.

I'm sure it was because of an over-inflated tyre, but please let me know if it could be something else. I've ridden through this route couple of times before and never had this kind of experience, so cycling style may not be it.

Also, its only been 2 months since I bought the bike and the gear-switching performance has declined quite a lot. When it was brand new, it switched gears right away (except when riding uphill where sometimes it failed to switch), but in today's ride -- sometimes it took 6-8 full pedal for the gear to switch. Is it already time for a tune-up?

BJL

Re: Do you pump your tyre to the max psi? and my bad experience today

Postby BJL » Thu Jan 18, 2018 9:27 pm