Bike computer

Danx1974
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Sep 02, 2018 9:13 am

Bike computer

Postby Danx1974 » Mon Sep 03, 2018 1:53 am

Hi there. Just needing some info if anyone can help. I have a Sigma sports bike computer. The sts 16.16 to be exact. I am finding it frustrating at the moment. If I stop at traffic lights for a certain period of time, the computer goes into like a pause mode. It takes some time to start up again, so I end up with lost distance and time. Is there something I can do to kick it off straight away again. I've tried pressing a few buttons but accidentally lost my info when it reset the data.(not the first time this has happened).

Jmuzz
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2018 1:42 pm

Re: Bike computer

Postby Jmuzz » Mon Sep 03, 2018 11:42 am

It has a Powersave feature which sends it to sleep.
Try turning that off.

Besides that there doesn't seem to be any other related setting mentioned.

https://www.sigmasport.com/en/produkte/ ... nu=manuals

User avatar
MattyK
Posts: 2431
Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2010 1:07 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bike computer

Postby MattyK » Mon Sep 03, 2018 12:53 pm

Just follow these simple steps:
* Remove the unit from the mounting bracket
* Turn it over
* Remove battery cover and battery
* Hold the tip of a screwdriver into the base of the battery compartment
* Vigorously strike the handle of the screwdriver with a hammer
* Convince better half to buy you a Garmin
* Turn off auto-pause on the Garmin.

User avatar
DavidS
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:24 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bike computer

Postby DavidS » Mon Sep 03, 2018 8:51 pm

I'd suggest getting a Cateye, tried a Sigma and the Cateye digital wireless is a hell of a lot better. Really don't need a fancy Garmin, if you just want a good reliable computer a Cateye works well for me and not too expensive.

DS
Image

Cannondale Quick Speed 2, Allegro T1

User avatar
ValleyForge
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Bike computer

Postby ValleyForge » Mon Sep 03, 2018 9:34 pm

MattyK wrote:Just follow these simple steps:
* Remove the unit from the mounting bracket
* Turn it over
* Remove battery cover and battery
* Hold the tip of a screwdriver into the base of the battery compartment
* Vigorously strike the handle of the screwdriver with a hammer
* Convince better half to buy you a Garmin
* Turn off auto-pause on the Garmin.

An alternative is to just loosen it while riding. Bridgestone vs computer only has one winner.

Seriously, as a Garmin user collector over the years, they are not perfect, but are pretty darned good. Ever seen anyone selling a second-hand Cateye, Sigma or Bryton?
Ha ha ha! Cookies on dowels.

User avatar
DavidS
Posts: 2502
Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2010 11:24 pm
Location: Melbourne

Re: Bike computer

Postby DavidS » Tue Sep 04, 2018 9:39 pm

Why would you sell an old Cateye, they're quite cheap new. I think a Cateye bike computer is more analogous to a Sigma.

DS
Image

Cannondale Quick Speed 2, Allegro T1

User avatar
DrShifty
Posts: 150
Joined: Sat Jan 30, 2016 4:58 pm
Location: Lake Macquarie

Re: Bike computer

Postby DrShifty » Tue Sep 04, 2018 10:56 pm

ValleyForge wrote:Ever seen anyone selling a second-hand Cateye, Sigma or Bryton?


Yep.
https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/melbour ... 1193825091

https://www.gumtree.com.au/s-ad/southpo ... 1193557776

User avatar
ValleyForge
Posts: 1702
Joined: Tue Jan 27, 2009 5:37 pm
Location: Brisbane

Re: Bike computer

Postby ValleyForge » Wed Sep 05, 2018 2:32 pm

DrShifty wrote:
ValleyForge wrote:Ever seen anyone selling a second-hand Cateye, Sigma or Bryton?


Yep.

:lol:
Ha ha ha! Cookies on dowels.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: malnar