Sydney to Gong Training for beginner

Dr.Nate

Sydney to Gong Training for beginner

Postby Dr.Nate » Mon Sep 05, 2011 10:27 am

Hey guys I'm new to cycling and have been doing some training around SOP just started and did a couple of 45km to 55km sessions and just getting into it. I did roughly 48km in 2h07min so still very slow....

I haven't done any group rides but I'm going to try and get used to riding with other cyclists by doing the BayBug ride around SOP this Saturday morning.

Any advice on beginner training for the Sydney to Gong ride? I'm thinking about doing it ...

So any advice on training and just general advice on my first SYD to Gong ride would be great...

Thanks

familyguy

Re: Sydney to Gong Training for beginner

Postby familyguy » Mon Sep 05, 2011 12:43 pm

Dr.Nate wrote:Hey guys I'm new to cycling and have been doing some training around SOP just started and did a couple of 45km to 55km sessions and just getting into it. I did roughly 48km in 2h07min so still very slow....
Not bad, thats 23-something km/h average.
Dr.Nate wrote:I haven't done any group rides but I'm going to try and get used to riding with other cyclists by doing the BayBug ride around SOP this Saturday morning.

Any advice on beginner training for the Sydney to Gong ride? I'm thinking about doing it ...

So any advice on training and just general advice on my first SYD to Gong ride would be great...

Thanks
Go ride up and down some hills. And not just small ones either. I reckon lots of people think "this wont be hard", and then reality slaps them in the face. Many people hit the RNP climb out and fall to bits. The descent into the RNP catches people too, with speed and cornering. Not to mention the first downhill section after coming out of the RNP heading south at Stanwell Park. There's a nasty, NASTY little hill right after Seacliff Bridge that gets lots of people walking, or simply toppling over onto others.