Riding from Belmont to Eleebana (Newcastle NSW)

phineas

Riding from Belmont to Eleebana (Newcastle NSW)

Postby phineas » Sun Mar 16, 2014 10:35 pm

Hi,
I am hoping for some advice/route suggestions.
I am a novice rider and I'd like to ride down the Fernleigh Track to Belmont, and then along the lake to Warners Bay area.

Firstly, on the map I can see 'Green Point Reserve' and it looks to have a few tracks running through it from Belmont to Valentine.
Are these tracks suitable for a road bike? (And for a relatively unfit rider... are they particularly hilly?)

Secondly, I see on the map that between Valentine and Eleebana there seems to be no path along the lake, but I don't have the confidence to ride that short stretch of main road (as I know it's not got much of a shoulder - I vaguely remember sitting behind a cyclist when driving in a car there a long time ago).

Is there another suggested route that will be a bit safer?

I have attached a photo of the bit of main road (Bareeki Road) that I am worried about.

Thanks very much for your advice!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

bychosis

Re: Riding from Belmont to Eleebana (Newcastle NSW)

Postby bychosis » Sun Mar 16, 2014 11:00 pm

There are some back streets up and around that section. They are hilly, and I worked out a way through a while back when I thought I was going to need to ride through without a helmet (vehicle pickup stuff up with the helmet in the wrong place).

I don't like riding the bends, but feel there isn't much of an alternative. If you pick your gaps in the traffic, that happen thanks to the lights at valentine, you can put in some extra effort to get past the really bad bits and then hide in the shoulder, driveway etc for a bit of recovery. Heading north bound is a bit up hill, southbound is a bit better as you can ride quicker down the hill (slight hill)

The section up past Belmont hospital isn't too bad, the shoulders are quite good.