Harris Park to Parra bike route for a newbie commuting?

geminimum

Harris Park to Parra bike route for a newbie commuting?

Postby geminimum » Wed Feb 28, 2018 3:07 pm

Hi everyone. I'll be commuting to work from Harris Park (Brisbane St) and would like advice on which route to take to Parramatta. I want to end up at the courts on George St. Since I am new at this I was thinking of heading down Harris St towards the wharf and ride along there (watch out pedestrians!) I wouldn't be comfortable on the main road. I'm guessing I have to cross over the bridge to get to the other side so I end up on the exit where I could get back onto O'Connell St. Otherwise it ends somewhere where the old Harris Farm markets use to be? Any help and advice much appreciated!

Bunged Knee

Re: Harris Park to Parra bike route for a newbie commuting?

Postby Bunged Knee » Wed Feb 28, 2018 5:50 pm

Hi, Welcome to the forum.
See the map in this link

ID please? What ID? My seat tube ID is 27.2mm or 31.6mm depending on what bikes I ride today.thanks...

geminimum

Postby geminimum » Thu Mar 01, 2018 11:46 am

:D Thanks Bunged Knee, this is great! I didn't know you could choose the Bike option in Google maps! I'm very excited. I'm sure there are other ways to go. Just worried about the cars. My work colleague gave me a suggestion too. Looks like I'll be checking it out this weekend.

find_bruce

Postby find_bruce » Thu Mar 01, 2018 12:17 pm

Go for a ride and see how you go. If you find Harris St a little busy, an easy alternative would be via Alfred St
It doesn't get easier, you just get slower

zebee

Postby zebee » Thu Mar 01, 2018 9:42 pm

Be careful about bike option. It's quite capable of telling you to cycle on a main road with no bike facilities. Such as Paramatta Rd.

Mind you... bit of Parra Rd do have footpaths as shared paths. THey just don't bother putting up signs.

g-boaf

Postby g-boaf » Fri Mar 02, 2018 11:36 am