Colorado Mtn Biker moving to Melbourne

mtwahoo

Colorado Mtn Biker moving to Melbourne

Postby mtwahoo » Wed Nov 18, 2009 3:25 am

Hello All!

I will be relocating to South Melbourne from Colorado Springs here in about a week. I'm bringing my enduro and looking to hook up with some local riders to see the trails. I stoked to get out of the cold and rip up some dirt at sealevel. What kind of riding should i expect? I do not detect the presence of any real mountains, which is fine I need a break from the hills. I'm thinking a 6" trail bike is probably over kill but it's all I have right now. Also, I'm going to need to pick up a single speed cheap city bike for around town. I appreciate any advice you have for me, thanks alot!

elmo

Re: Colorado Mtn Biker moving to Melbourne

Postby elmo » Wed Nov 18, 2009 6:27 am

Hey mate,

I'm no expert on MTB'ing through Melbourne but there certainly are plenty of places to ride. Close to the city there is the Yarra Trail which hugs the river right round through Fairfield. There's a MUP path, there's a designated MTB trail, then there's also the infamous Yarra Boulevard for the roadies, all in one area. The MTB trail can be pretty long and it has some climbs.

There's also lots of great MTB'ing riding through The You Yangs. It's over west, just past Weribbee (about 40mins drive from Melbourne). This has great dedicated MTB trails. It's a mountain and there's a few trails to choose from, varying in degree of difficulties.

Out in the Otway Forrest, there's are several MTB tracks ranging in length and difficulty. It's a bit of a drive from Melbourne (2.5 hours) but it's quite nice out there. They used these particular tracks for some championships (World Championship is what the LBS guy in Colac said) in 2008.

Haven't been to a MTB trail in the Dandenong Mountains but I'm certain there are a few around there.