Seeking advices - ride to work (runcorn to city)

shx

Seeking advices - ride to work (runcorn to city)

Postby shx » Tue Apr 06, 2010 3:47 pm

Hi everyone

I'm a new comer here and recently thinking about the idea of getting a bike to commute between Runcorn (off compton rd) to city, ~20km each way.

Is here anyone doing the same/similar route everyday? If so and if you don't mind, would you please give me a few tips about that? I'm fairly new to cycling and haven't done that for years (but I reckon I'm generally fit as I go to gym regularly), how long does it take you for each way? Are those SE freeway biketracks in good condition? What type of bike I should get? etc.

Thank you very very much for any input!

tomns

Re: Seeking advices - ride to work (runcorn to city)

Postby tomns » Tue Apr 06, 2010 8:08 pm

There is a guy at work that heads across that way,

SE freeway tracks are pretty good, I ride them most days only one section that is a bit uneven. I ride a roadie to and from as I like to go fast :)

I think the guy from work goes towards Griffith Uni and then links up with the bikeway that runs along Gaza Rd and then through Tarragindi, through to Greenslopes, Stones Corner then Okeiffe St and into Southbank, Goodwill Bridge etc.

Should be a good ride - if you are starting from scratch I would try and do 1 or 2 days a week for a week or two then move to 3 days a week then up to 5 days a week assuming that is your goal.

Advice on what bike you should buy, I think it depends on what sort of riding you want to do, I am a roadie and always have been really
I find them exceptionally easy to ride provide fast acceleration. If you have never ridden one they take a bit of getting used to.

Most people start out with a mountain bike or hybrid however, if you are the type of person that likes to go fast and want to take up riding
the a roadie would be for you.

Tom
Peugeot Iseran - Geared Bike
Peugeot Versailles - Fixie
Peugeot U08 - Poser