Anyone know this cyclist?

PiratePete

Anyone know this cyclist?

Postby PiratePete » Fri Nov 18, 2016 9:51 pm

Hey guys, many of you know that I obviously use cameras on my bikes, but cycling doesn't pay the bills it just generates more expenses. So I need to work for a living, I do this by driving a Mack Truck Tipper and Dog trailer combo (please don't shoot me). I'm happy to say that cyclists are on my radar and that you have nothing to worry about if I come up behind you.

I use a camera on the truck too, for much the same reasons as we use them on our bikes, well at least for the evidence collection part of it anyway.

This morning I had a cyclist do a particularly silly thing so I thought I'd highlight it. This cyclist made her way up the left side of my vehicle while I was indicating to turn left at a roundabout. I knew she was at the back of the vehicle as I was waiting my turn, when I was able to enter the roundabout, besides seeing and reacting to a car shooting through the intersection, I scanned the FOUR mirrors on my left side and she was gone! Only a second before she was still clipped in and at my back wheels, guessing that she was now in my blind spot beside my front left wheel I hit the picks and then the horn. As you can see in the video, she just rode around the corner, only looking to see if there was something crossing my path.

For the record, I confirmed that all 10 indicator lights on the left of the combination were all fully functional.

Rounding the corner my rear wheels cleared the kerb by only a couple of inches...

I'm hoping that someone knows her and can point out not only the danger of such action, but how this reflects on all of us (cyclists), particularly to all of us (truckies), who as a whole don't have much respect for us (cyclists). Gee I'm confused :?

EDIT: This was at the intersection of Hellawell and Jackson Roads at Sunnybank HIlls.

2015 Specialized Diverge Carbon Expert
2013 Giant Reign MTB.
Pirate Pete on Instagram