[OT] Digital Set Top Boxes

[OT] Digital Set Top Boxes

Postby Aushiker » Wed Mar 19, 2008 4:34 pm

G'day

My Nextwave digital set top box has decided it does not want to get the ABC or SBS anymore, well most days anyway. It is an older box, so I guess it has had its day.

What I am looking for is recommendations on boxes that those in Perth have found work well picking up the ABC and SBS in Perth.

Thanks
Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19398
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

by BNA » Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:34 pm

BNA
 

Postby Kalgrm » Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:34 pm

I think it depends more on your antenna doesn't it? Mine is a cheapy from Dick Smith Electronics and it works fine.

Cheers,
Graeme
Think outside the double triangle.
---------------------------------------
My web site: www.scenebyhird.com
---------------------------------------
The Bicycle Transportation Alliance
User avatar
Kalgrm
Super Mod
Super Mod
 
Posts: 9236
Joined: Fri May 25, 2007 5:21 pm
Location: Spearwood, 9km SE of Fremantle, WA

Postby Aushiker » Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:38 pm

Kalgrm wrote:I think it depends more on your antenna doesn't it? Mine is a cheapy from Dick Smith Electronics and it works fine.

Don't know. It has been working fine for a couple of years and now playing up. Still gets the commercials okay.

Andrew
"Pedal-pounding pounce" - D. Fluellen - West Australian 13/1/14
Image
User avatar
Aushiker
 
Posts: 19398
Joined: Tue Jun 05, 2007 1:55 pm
Location: Fremantle, WA

Postby Pushy » Wed Mar 19, 2008 5:49 pm

I have a similar problem with the el cheapo Digicrystal PVR. SBS tends to be a bit flaky but ABC and ad TV is rock solid. Yet the HD tuner on the plasma is rock solid across all stations. Get a HD stb there are some great docos on those stations. Can't actually say I know which is good. Have you tried to retune all the stations?
Pushy
 
Posts: 994
Joined: Wed Aug 15, 2007 1:02 am
Location: Freo WA

Postby moosterbounce » Wed Mar 19, 2008 10:02 pm

We don't have an issue with the Sony. It picks up ABC much better than the normal aerial, so goodness knows what's going on in there. We've had it about 2 years now so models are of no use, in fact you wouldn't even be able to buy the same specs anymore.

You could always trade in the tv for one with a built in tuna...or tuner if you like as they smell less :D

Seriously, we have a Sony TV too and neither has skipped a beat. Wouldn't get anything LG again as hard disk recorder is one and its been trouble since an early age. Don't know if you have one, but you can now get STB's with a built in disk which may be worthwhile if you don't have one. Wouldn't be without one.
moosterbounce
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 2418
Joined: Tue May 17, 2011 8:06 pm
Location: Rivervale WA


Return to Western Australia

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot], SoRCommute



Support BNA
Click for online shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Cycling Express Cycling Express
Ebay Ebay AU
ProBikeKit ProBikeKit UK
Evans Cycles Evans Cycles UK
JensonUSA Jenson USA
JensonUSA Competitive Cyclist