Bike Shelter Safety

MortyMcFly

Bike Shelter Safety

Postby MortyMcFly » Tue Jan 10, 2017 10:26 am

Hey, I am new to riding to train station, I will be riding to the guildford trainstation which has a bike shelter - does anyone know if my bike will be safe there during the hours of 5:30am to 4pm?

Wixxy

Re: Bike Shelter Safety

Postby Wixxy » Tue Jan 10, 2017 1:57 pm

The bike lockers are in a open space.

HappyHumber

Postby HappyHumber » Tue Jan 10, 2017 2:08 pm

Follow the lead of the other bikes in the cages. Don't be the one person with an unlocked bike. Don't have the cruddiest lock. Research and observe locking techniques (eg... frame and wheels vs. just a wheel etc)

Nothing is 100%. It's just about improving your odds.

Having said all of that - you should be fine.

**edit** Have you registered with Transperth? Your Smartrider gives you access to the cages, but you need to tell them which one you're using. Otherwise your bike will have to be locked up outside the cage.
--
Hit me up via the BNA dm; I'll get an alert. If y'know, you know.

Mububban

Postby Mububban » Tue Jan 10, 2017 3:16 pm

MortyMcFly wrote:Hey, I am new to riding to train station, I will be riding to the guildford trainstation which has a bike shelter - does anyone know if my bike will be safe there during the hours of 5:30am to 4pm?
If you register your SmartRider card you can designate 2 train stations to lock your bike inside the covered cages. It's well worth doing.
Then buy a good quality lock, and maybe a cheap ass one to also thread through our wheels.

Any lock can be cut or broken given enough time and noise, but hopefully inside the cage, all locked up, thieves would go for an easier option parked outside with a $10 K-Mart lock.
When you are driving your car, you are not stuck IN traffic - you ARE the traffic!!!

Lizzy

Postby Lizzy » Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:58 am