Racks and panniers

diamondo

Racks and panniers

Postby diamondo » Mon Mar 22, 2010 4:22 pm

Hi Guys

I'm new to the above topic - am wondering how universal the sizing is for bike racks (rear).

Specifically, if I buy panniers - I have in mind some Euro brands like Ortlieb or Blackburn - will these panniers fit all racks?
Is it best to buy racks and panniers made by the same manufacturer? (Doesn't seem that common)
How do I know if one brand of pannier will clip effectively and be stable with a particular rack?

I am thinking of one brand of rack (disc brake compatible) but am concerned that there may be a mismatch of panniers with the rack.

Thanks.

Baldy

Re: Racks and panniers

Postby Baldy » Mon Mar 22, 2010 6:25 pm

I think as a general rule most panniers will fit most racks. Mainly because most pannier bags have some kind of adjustment to their mounting systems.

One thing ive noticed while researching is the mention of heel clearance, seems to be more of an issue than anything else. Only with certain rack/bike/pannier combos, small frames and big bags ect...

cheers

il padrone

Postby il padrone » Mon Mar 22, 2010 8:18 pm

diamondo wrote:How do I know if one brand of pannier will clip effectively and be stable with a particular rack?
Generally most racks will fit most panniers. Ortlieb panniers do have the added feature of some special clip fittings that can tailor the pannier clips to different rack widths, including the wider 10mm tubes of Tubus racks and even wider. Not essential but they keep the bags sitting more snugly on the rack bars.
diamondo wrote:I am thinking of one brand of rack (disc brake compatible) but am concerned that there may be a mismatch of panniers with the rack.