Perth - Adelaide - Brisbane - Sidney ?

richmotion

Perth - Adelaide - Brisbane - Sidney ?

Postby richmotion » Sat Oct 27, 2012 9:08 am

Hey guys!

I´m Richard, 39 years old, from Austria, Europe, fairly well trained, riding about 6000km per year. In 2011I rode 1.600km through Arizona in 3 weeks, so I am not entirely new to long distance riding.
My original plan was riding Western United States for 3 months. Since my company won´t let me go for holidays from May to July 2013 I somehow thought of Australia - because of the weather.
However I am very new to Australia. So far I know you guys drive on the wrong side of the street. :lol:
Heat does not scare me off, 40 deg. Celsius are pretty rideable for me, as long as it´s dry (I love the desert!) But I have great respect of the distances and the sparse infrastructure in Australia, regarding water, food, cell-phone reception. I would appreciate every single info I can get!

So far I figured one route: Perth - Adelaide - Brisbane - Sidney, which would add up to about 5.500km. Should be rideable in 3 months. I would like to stay on roads, rough roads or little offroad is doable, my rig is a Surly CrossCheck, maybe I switch to Salsa Fargo by next year - but since flights are much more expensive to Australia I will probably stick with my Surly.

So my questions are:
1. How dangerous is riding on Highways? In the US there is always a wide shoulder or even a bikepath, roads are WIDE enough.
2. Regarding weather: January to March 2013? What would I have to expect? How strong are winds, direction? Any Rain? Temps day/night?
3. Infrastructure: What about water and food supply on this route? How long would be distances between supply?
4. Animals: As far as I know the most poisonous animals live on your continent. What would I have to keep in mind?
5. Typical no-go´s or things that are different from the rest of the world, regarding cyclists?