Lightweight, Credit Card Touring From Melbourne

lrzewnicki

Lightweight, Credit Card Touring From Melbourne

Postby lrzewnicki » Fri Dec 11, 2015 12:24 am

Hello everyone,

I was recently introduced to this forum by a friend out of Brisbane. I've done a bit of research and digging, but this is an impromptu trip so I thought I'd go right to the experts and source. This is my first time in Australia and I'm heading to Melbourne next week, December 2015, for around three months give or take. While I may head to New Zealand for a bit, my plan is to bike and see as much as possible while down there. A little about me, I was an avid cyclist in my former life (I've since become a traveler and haven't always brought my bike with me) and have done a number of multi-day tours across Europe; Spain, France, Luxembourg, Belgium, Holland, Slovenia and Italy. These ranged from 4-12 days all with a lightweight rig or "bikepacking" as we like to call it.

My rig is a carbon fiber road bike, out fitted very lightly with minimal gear. I have 25mm tires, so I need to stay on tarmac with some minimal gravel if necessary. I'd like to keep it around 50-75 miles a day and am happy to climb if needed. I plan to credit card camp along the way as I don't plan on having any camping gear at this time. So, I'll need to be hitting places with hotels/hostels/places to stay along the way. Nothing too remote.