Family friendly off road (ish) ride in SW WA?

matthewo_brien

Family friendly off road (ish) ride in SW WA?

Postby matthewo_brien » Mon Sep 04, 2017 10:55 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to Southwest WA, but keen to do some exploring. With my family. On bikes.

In test rides, we can comfortably do around 20km or so in a session (most recent was the rail trail from Cowaramup to Margaret River), but have to watch the gradient with the youngest rider (7 y/o). She is getting better with offroad, and we are much more at ease away from traffic. We've all got capable mountain bikes, but don't really want to push it with the kids yet.

We are pretty nearly setup with all our bags and sleeping gear and tent - just looking for some destinations that might suit. Hopefully looking for three days/two nights as the stating adventure.

So any suggestions? I'm going to look at the Munda biddi maps to see if there are some sections that might work, but also open to anything else people suggest. The ride and the view and the camping is the destination!

Thanks in advance!

Matthew

Thoglette

Re: Family friendly off road (ish) ride in SW WA?

Postby Thoglette » Tue Sep 05, 2017 6:35 am

When I asked a similar question a while back the advice was to look at the rail-trail sections: they are relatively flat and broad. If my memory serves me there's one near Pemberton and another near Denmark.

I'm sure those more famillar will chime in
Stop handing them the stick! - Dave Moulton
"People are worthy of respect, ideas are not." Peter Ellerton, UQ

Aushiker

Postby Aushiker » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:20 am

Rail trail out of Nannup but not a big distance. The Mundi Biddi between Denmark and Albany is fairly flat with a railtrail section north of Albany. Also nice trail out of Denmark going north.

IIRC Collie has a rail trail as well.

Aushiker

Postby Aushiker » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:21 am

matthewo_brien

Postby matthewo_brien » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:22 pm