Help with info regarding accidents on Maquarie St

PiratePete

Help with info regarding accidents on Maquarie St

Postby PiratePete » Wed Jul 27, 2016 7:54 am

Hi Tassie Folks,

My sister was tragically killed last Friday at the intersection of Macquarie and Campbell streets. She was a pedestrian, not a cyclist but I thought I'd pose the question here as we are a community and I have no local knowledge having only visited Hobart once.

Below is a link to the ABC's report of the incident, Tassie Police and Qld Police have been fantastic with their assistance and information. I don't have full access to the evidence as it is under investigation, however I would like to propose to the coroner that this intersection (and possibly others along this area) have right turn controls added for when pedestrians have pressed the crossing button.

http://www.abc.net.au/news/2016-07-23/q ... rt/7654498

We know from CCTV evidence that my sister did press the button and waited before crossing on the green. A close friend traveled down to Hobart this week and placed flowers at the scene, she sat for quite some time and observed traffic and pedestrian movements. She has noted that the buses and many cars swing wide when turning into Campbell St. We wonder if my sister noted the bus had mostly departed the right turn lane and assumed it was intending to continue along Maquarie... Not that this excuses possible fault from the other party.

I drive heavy vehicles and understand what's required for turning, looking on Google Maps, I struggle to see why a vehicle the size of a Metro bus would need to swing wide at this intersection given Campbell street multi laneis one way.

I would be very greatly appreciative if you folk could assist me by supplying information of other incidents at this and nearby intersections where better traffic light controls could have improved the outcome. I would like to see a change to prevent this horrible event occurring again if at all possible.