Master Sports Cycles

Vintage, yesteryear and retro biking

Master Sports Cycles

Postby bicyclepassion » Thu Dec 27, 2012 4:03 pm

I have a Master Sports motor pace bicycle that I am trying to establish a build date for.
I need to find out when Master Sports started production.
They were produced by Motor Spares Ltd, 547 Elizabeth Street Melbourne. I have a 1935 catalogue here, but it does not mention an establishment date of Motor Spares Ltd, or Master Sports.
Any history of this company will be very much appreciated.
I know that they were still being sold in the 1960's, and have a nice 'Barry Waddell' 1960's Master Sports road bike here, under construction. The brand was sold into the 1980's under the Repco umbrella.
I believe the Motor Pace bike may be just pre or post WW1, say 1910-1920, but can find no references to the Master Sports brand prior to 1934.
Thanks in advance.
Warren
bicyclepassion

by BNA » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:08 pm

BNA

Re: Master Sports Cycles

Postby GaryF » Thu Dec 27, 2012 9:08 pm

This may be of no use but my father bought me a Repco semi-racer (3 speed Sturmey Archer) from the Motor Spares store (then Repco) in Elizabeth Street in 1965 or 66.
GaryF

Postby Stepr » Sun Dec 30, 2012 8:12 pm

Hi Warren, unless someone on the forum knows I'd suggest you track down an old Sans McDougal business Directory for Melbourne - this book listed all the busineses and individuals and their occupation etc, may be worth a trip to the state library. Alternatively I have had a search in Trove (http://trove.nla.gov.au/ and the earliest reference to Motor spares at that address is Saturday June 2nd 1934 - however the add lists quite a few branches so may have been in business a for a few years prior at least. You found a similar date so may you have been to the same source? first ref in Trove to Master sports that I could find was 1936 - not that this date is definitive by any means.
Stepr

Postby Clydesdale Scot » Sun Dec 30, 2012 9:35 pm

Warren