Steel Framed Cycle Touring Holidays

Vintage, yesteryear and retro biking

Steel Framed Cycle Touring Holidays

Postby Rob74 » Sat Feb 02, 2013 8:32 am

Noted Bretonbikes Cycle-Touring anyone done something similar....or have other family friendly Cycle-Touring Holiday options/recommendations?

Rob
Rob74

by BNA » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:30 am

BNA

Re: Steel Framed Cycle Touring Holidays

Postby elantra » Sat Feb 02, 2013 11:30 am

Rob74 wrote:Noted Bretonbikes Cycle-Touring anyone done something similar....or have other family friendly Cycle-Touring Holiday options/recommendations?

That looks like a really good outfit.

I have no experience of cycling in France but i did do some cycling in Moselle valley (Luxemburg and Germany) and Holland many years ago. Was great+++, stayed in cheap hotels mainly, occasionally had difficulty getting a suitable or affordable place to stay.

This outfit has a good reputation, http://www.bikestyletours.com/, though their main focus is on sports riding/events from what i can see. I have spoken to quite a few weekend warrior type riders in Brisbane and the feedback on TdF tours with Bikestyle or Fusion (a brisbane bikeshop) is always very positive +++
"Technology gives us much more information but Education is never be able to give us the skill to evaluate it"
elantra

Re: Steel Framed Cycle Touring Holidays

Postby pug/city » Tue Feb 05, 2013 8:54 pm

Hi Rob,
My wife and I hired bikes from http://www.brittanybordersbicycling.com/cycle-hire.html in 2010 to do a cycle tour in Brittany, our plan was to stay in B & Bs, ended up buying a small tent and sleeping bags and camping out. Ate a breakfast at the B & B or patisserie, a big lunch at a cafe or pub, dinner was self made platter of local produce, cheese, crackers, olives, sundried tomato and beer and wine.
The owners, John and Veronica are English ex-pats living in France, easy to communicate with and very helpful.