just picked up a Falcon?

Vintage, yesteryear and retro biking

just picked up a Falcon?

Postby paulos » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:17 pm

I just picked this bike up with a view to reliving my youth, (although the black 10 speed I had back then was a cheap steel framed, steel wheeled, foam-hand-gripped thing), and I wasn't expecting much when I went to get it, but from my limited knowledge based on what I've read on here, it seems to have some decent bits on it. Suntour derailers which work perfectly, some sort of Italian handlebars, a suede seat which is unfortunately damaged, and alloy rims. Not too mention a decent looking frame.

I'm going to tidy it up a bit, don't know about painting it, put new brake cables, pads, tyres, etc. I was after some feedback on the boots that go around the brake levers, grip tape, and a new seat possibly. Basically i'm after a bit of advice on aesthetics. I'm new to fixing up bicycles and i'd like it to look "right"

Thanks in advance.

p.s. any info on the bike itself would be great.

paulos

by BNA » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:37 pm

BNA

Re: just picked up a Falcon?

Postby munga » Tue Aug 26, 2014 9:37 pm

so you need some new rubber 'brake hoods' for your levers.
what brand are the brake levers? ebay might be the best place to start looking.
same with the handlebar tape. some faux-leather stuff would be the correct period. you can get black, white, tan, and every colour in between. Ambrosio bar tape is nice, and good value.

a reynolds 501 frame is decent - falcon made mostly mid-range and better frames. yours is entry/mid-level. certainly a keeper if it's your size.

as for aesthetics, keep the original paint if you can. finding the correct decals might be a challenge, and a cheap paintjob turns a half-decent bike into another random clunker.

are the wheels 27" or 700c?
pitty43 wrote:Thanks all for your help. Better change my Gumtree add now.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/retroclassiccycling/
munga