Bob's Vinco

Clydesdale Scot

Bob's Vinco

Postby Clydesdale Scot » Tue Jan 19, 2016 10:46 pm

shellac or not?

I started riding again about 2004. In 2005 I began riding with a large paceline group that rode along the Adelaide coastline from Glenelg to Outer Harbor and return. The group is split into various average speed groups depending on skill and fitness.
Because the group is so large and the staggered starts and longer gaps at the finish, it takes you a while before you get to know the riders in the other groups.
In the lower average speed groups the average age is a little higher. One of the riders rode a steel frame, with the name ‘Vinco’ on the downtube. The bike’s owner, Bob, was of mature age. Off the bike he is tallish, thin build and a stooped stance. The bike stood out from the other thick tubed aluminium, and as the years progressed, carbon frames replaced the aluminium. Not for Bob.
A few times, when riders numbers were down due to public holidays etc, we combined speed groups. I rode alongside Bob on some of those rides. On the bike he was Coppiesque. Bob and his bike belong together. His riding style was smooth and even paced. He knew how to ride. He didn’t stay silent if something needed to be said, but he was economical with his words out on ride.
There have been a few times where he has accepted my offer and sat on my wheel, mainly when the headwind was strong. Just a few times Bob had turned back early and as we went past I left the group I was with and offered to help give Bob a tow back. Sometimes he accepted. I knew I had to be smooth and steady, or be gently chided if I wasn’t.
As I was restoring Dad’s old Spearman, I searched out Bob with a few questions to try to keep Spearman authentic to the period. He scoffed at using shellac on the cloth bar tape. He said they just removed the dirty tape, gave it a wash and rewrapped the now cleaned tape. OK, I was given a simple and clear answer.