My Saddles

GaryF

My Saddles

Postby GaryF » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:52 pm

After about 50 years of cycling to work off and on, I have gravitated to quite a small number of different saddles.

1st Instalment:

This is a little discussion about the leather saddles I have owned:

I started out riding a Repco 3 speed semi-racer to work when I was an apprentice. The saddle was a Fleet brand saddle. It looked very similar to a Brooks B17 or this BSA saddle that is following this paragraph. The Fleet wasn't leather but the crafty Fleet company made it look a little like leather but was, in fact, some sort of plastic/vinyl. It came with the bike when I got it for Christmas when I was about 12 years of age. Now at 17 years old, I had to braze 2 steel seatposts together to get a good seat to pedal length. It wasn't all that uncomfortable but this small bike had to go.

The Fleet looked very similar to a Brooks B17 or this BSA saddle:

It you can imagine the BSA saddle, above, in black plastic but instead of where you see the BSA is embossed on the saddle skirt, that says 'Fleet', then that is the saddle. Remember the strap-on tool kits? I liked the idea of carrying my tools with me when I was a young guy but it was annoying to have it strapped to the saddle so it was usually off the bike.

My next few bikes all had Brooks B17's on them. These bikes included a Raleigh Carlton, Malvern Star, 5 Star track bike and a Bob Jackson Olympus, shown below:

I always felt comfortable on a Brooks B17 and have owned a number of them and had them on quite a few bikes:

One saddle I did find really comfortable was a B17 derivative; the B5N. I owned 2 B5N's over the years and often moved them from one bike to the next. The B5N has a perforated skirt edge that helps to prevent chafing of your inner thigh: