New Old Singlespeeds

devilishdesigner

New Old Singlespeeds

Postby devilishdesigner » Thu Feb 28, 2013 10:47 am

Hi guys, I know there are a lot of people on here building their own single speed and fixie bikes, and I was wondering how many of you are use or like the idea of using properly old frames in your builds? I have seen quite a few around built on 80's 10 speed frames, but not many earlier. I love the handpainted pinstriping and detailing on the earlier bikes, which seems to have been lost on all but the most expensive modern frames.

I have been riding a 1960's Repco based single speed for around 12 months now and absolutely love it. I love the patina of the frame, the texture and colours, and the contrast with the modern deep V rims. The bike is perfectly reliable, all bearings have been replaced as well as any excessively worn bearing surfaces, wheels and tyres and seat are brand new, but as many other parts as possible are original. It is a touch high geared for hill climbing but a blast on a long flat track.

I have been building bikes for myself, friends and family since I was a kid and have decided to take it a step further and start producing bikes based on these beautiful older frames. I currently have 4 ready to ride bikes including the red Master Sports shown here. Every one has been stripped to a bare frame, original paint polished and oiled, bearings etc replaced where necessary then carefully assembled with a variety of new and old parts so that the end result is a reliable and fun bike to ride with a unique style and easy to source consumable parts.

A also have a small stock of beautiful 1950's and 1960's frames which are ready to be turned into a custom creation to suit the desires of the new owner including a stunning pair of Master Sports with near spotless original paint For single speed use I attempt to only stock frames with horizontal dropouts and am very careful to avoid any visible structural damage.