Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

The place for fixies and other rides without gears

Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby redrover3 » Mon Feb 17, 2014 10:10 pm

Hi,
Just converted my '81 Viner over to fixed. I bought a good condidition 46t x 1/8 Sugino chainring and a new 1/8 Izumi chain but am using a 17t 3/32 older sprocket and find that it's binding/not running smooth. Chainline is good. I will try a 1/8 sprocket. Are the $10 sprockets on ebay ok? Also, is it common for a 1/8 chain not to run well on a 3/32 sprocket?
Tony
redrover3
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:23 pm

by BNA » Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:15 am

BNA
 

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby rustychisel » Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:15 am

uncommon in my experience, it's more about how the chain and tooth profile 'mesh' if you follow my point.

I always found a 1/8 on 3/32 running gear noisier and grumblier and now always match 3/32 to 3/32 and 1/8 to 1/8.

Dunno about cheapie ebay cogs
rustychisel
 
Posts: 3344
Joined: Thu Jan 10, 2008 12:39 pm

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby HLC » Tue Feb 18, 2014 7:26 am

Cheapie ebay cogs ARE the problem.

Chainrings and sprockets are never perfectly round. The chainring bolt holes are almost always drilled a fraction off centre, or the tool that they sprockets are forged in is not great.


so what happens is you end up with tight and loose spots with your chain tension. Flip your bike upside down and spin the cranks. If the chain binds with the cranks in the same spot every rotation, then it's your chainring that is not round, if it binds in a different spot every rotation it's your cog.

Back your chain tension off slightly. Your chain should never be so tight that it binds. It should only be tight enough so that the chain cannot fall off.

Even the full Dura-Ace Drivetrain on my Bridgestone binds if i have the chain tension too tight. Fact of life.
User avatar
HLC
 
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney.

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby redrover3 » Tue Feb 18, 2014 6:34 pm

Thanks guys,
Time to buy a not so cheap sprocket. I slackened off the chain and adjusted the chainline slightly. Somewhat better but I think the sprocket is worn.
Tony
BTW, are the cro-mo or t6 alloy sprockets ok?
redrover3
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby HLC » Wed Feb 19, 2014 11:56 am

redrover3 wrote:Thanks guys,
Time to buy a not so cheap sprocket. I slackened off the chain and adjusted the chainline slightly. Somewhat better but I think the sprocket is worn.
Tony
BTW, are the cro-mo or t6 alloy sprockets ok?


get a second hand Dura Ace NJS sprocket on ebay. will be sub $20 and youll never have a problem again
User avatar
HLC
 
Posts: 641
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2012 10:23 pm
Location: Sydney.

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby mick243 » Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:17 pm

Ok, dumb question here, but what's the actual difference between 1/8 chain/sprockets and 3/32 chain/sprockets.... I ask because math says 1/8=3/32
mick243
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:44 am

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby Derny Driver » Wed Feb 19, 2014 6:20 pm

mick243 wrote:Ok, dumb question here, but what's the actual difference between 1/8 chain/sprockets and 3/32 chain/sprockets.... I ask because math says 1/8=3/32

haha your maths is BAD. 1/8 = 4/32
3/32 is narrower. Narrow cogs need a narrow chain.
1/8 is standard. You shouldn't really use a 1/8 chain on a 3/32 cog, as its slightly loose on the cog and may throw off if not tensioned correctly.
User avatar
Derny Driver
 
Posts: 621
Joined: Wed Nov 21, 2012 11:18 am
Location: Wollongong

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby redrover3 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:03 pm

I ask because math says 1/8=3/32
Hah. :D
redrover3
 
Posts: 253
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2011 7:23 pm

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby mitchy_ » Thu Feb 20, 2014 5:11 pm

no issues with my 1/8" chainring and chain with a 3/32" freewheel.
as above one of them is likely out of round and causing the problems.
Designs by Mitch - drafting specialist.
User avatar
mitchy_
 
Posts: 479
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2014 10:15 am

Re: Using 1/8 chain on 3/32= binding

Postby mick243 » Thu Feb 20, 2014 8:03 pm

Derny Driver wrote:
mick243 wrote:Ok, dumb question here, but what's the actual difference between 1/8 chain/sprockets and 3/32 chain/sprockets.... I ask because math says 1/8=3/32

haha your maths is BAD. 1/8 = 4/32
3/32 is narrower. Narrow cogs need a narrow chain.
1/8 is standard. You shouldn't really use a 1/8 chain on a 3/32 cog, as its slightly loose on the cog and may throw off if not tensioned correctly.

Ahhh.

Whuups.
mick243
 
Posts: 209
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2013 10:44 am


Return to Fixed Gear/ Single Speed

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users



Popular Bike Shops
Torpedo 7 Torpedo7 AU
Ground Effect Ground Effect NZ
Chain Reaction Cycles CRC UK
Wiggle Wiggle UK
Ebay Ebay AU



InTouch with BNA
“Bicycles BNA Twitter
“Bicycles BNA Facebook
“Google+ BNA Google+
“Bicycles BNA Newsletter