Security and Safety for Recumbents

Bunsy03

Security and Safety for Recumbents

Postby Bunsy03 » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:09 pm

Hello Everyone, after some research, I am about to buy a greenspeed and become a bent rider for the first time. I am really new to this and would very much appreciate any advice you can give.

I physically cannot drive and so will be using the bent to run errands and commute around the Box Hill / whitehorse area, I wonder if anyone can tell me a good book on bike tracks around Melbourne (to get from A to B, not for "fun") and also road rules for cyclists (eg, signalling etc).

Sorry for the long post, finally, does anyone have advice about good locks etc for the 'bent at public places? Its such an expensive machine to lose or damage! Thank you. 8)

Kalgrm
Super Mod
Super Mod

Postby Kalgrm » Mon Oct 20, 2008 4:28 pm

G'day Bunsy,

Welcome to the forum and to recumbency.

The road rules for bikes and cars are the same in nearly every aspect. You signal when you intend to change lane or turn a corner.

Someone will be able to post a link to online information about where bike lanes are. There shouldn't be any need to buy a book (which may be out of date next month anyway ...)

Locks on 'bents are indeed a problem. Without the traditional diamond frame structure, there isn't much to put the lock through on a 'bent. I run a length of secure chain and a high quality security padlock as my lock, but it's pretty heavy. The good thing is that it's pretty hard to sell-on a trike, so 'bents are not attractive to thieves generally.

Cheers,
Graeme

PS - sorry for the longer answer ... :)

PPS - I removed the bold tags from your post. Such formatting makes reading posts difficult.
Think outside the double triangle.
---------------------
Music was better when ugly people were allowed to make it ....

fredinver

Postby fredinver » Mon Oct 20, 2008 6:14 pm