MTB -> touring bike for France

For Australian Cyclists travelling and touring OS

MTB -> touring bike for France

Postby fizzy_piglets » Fri May 11, 2007 2:03 pm

Hi all,

Pleased to meet/read you all! I'm heading off to Europe in July & want to do some cyclo touring over there. Since budget's tight atm, I was thinking of converting my MTB (13" Trek 4100) into something more appropriate for touring. I was hugely encouraged by hoogie's article on bicycletouring101 (using a mountain bike as a touring bike).

Unfortunately I'm a noob still so I'm not sure if my bike's frame is suitable, hoogie & a lot of other posts regarding features of a touring bike mention... "relaxed geometery, longer wheelbase, longer chainstays and have rack mounting points on the dropouts".

Would you guys have guiding tips on those points? I'm still confused as to what they mean and how I measure them on my bike. Is there a general recommendation or ratio-to-size-of-rider for the size of the wheelbase etc..?

I figured the rack mounting points might be something important if I wanted to load panniers onto the bike, currently I don't think the bike's got mounting points or those holes in the forks for front mounts, and I already anticipate changing the fork since current ones have shock absorbers (suspensions?).

Looking forward to any of your input :)

- Piggy2
fizzy_piglets

by BNA » Sat May 12, 2007 12:00 am

BNA

Postby heavymetal » Sat May 12, 2007 12:00 am

I've toured extensively on an MTB. They can create problems with the hands if doing extended touring. There is nowehere else to put your hands except in the one position. Fit some bar ends if possible for different hand positions.

The long chainstays are required so when you put panniers on the rear rack, your heels won't hit the pedals when pedalling. I got around this by tilting the rack slightly backwards.