New chain and cassette after 1 year?

vinvin

New chain and cassette after 1 year?

Postby vinvin » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:21 pm

Hi guys,
My bike went in for service today (was due for it as hadn't been properly serviced since about Sept) and the bike shop (I don't want to name it but it's one that generally gets the thumbs up from Canberra cyclists) wants to replace the chain ($59) and cassette ($120) because they are worn and rubbing. I'm willing to trust them, but I'm just a bit surprised about it because I've never worn either one out before. I've been riding regularly on this bike for 12 months (bought new) but only about 80-90km or 2-3 rides per week.
Any thoughts? I have to decide ASAP because I have events coming up this weekend and next week!
:(

vinvin

Re: New chain and cassette after 1 year?

Postby vinvin » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:23 pm

Really rough estimate of use would be about 3500-4000km?

Mustang

Postby Mustang » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:23 pm

More info on the quality of the components?
Distance Goal 4000km
70 years young.

Robdog

Postby Robdog » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:39 pm

If it's <removed by moderator, see note>, they tried to pull the same on me after I'd just paid them to strip and re-assemble the components. Took the bike home and put a 12" metal ruler on it and it was like brand new. I'd measure it if I was you

Mod says - I know there's more than one bike shop on the street mentioned, but fairly obvious from the context which shop is referred to, to those in the know. Let's avoid naming-and-shaming, even if masked.
2019 BMC TimeMachine R01
201x S-Works Shiv
2009 Avanti Cadent Team

vinvin

Postby vinvin » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:41 pm

I'm afraid I can't name the chain or cassette, but it's a $2500-$3000 carbon bike with mostly 105 componentry/front set/brifters and ultegra on the rear derailleur.

vinvin

Postby vinvin » Wed Feb 09, 2011 8:44 pm

12 inch what? measure what? :shock:

Robdog

Postby Robdog » Wed Feb 09, 2011 9:08 pm